jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2013
shovenose shovenose is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fairfax, CA
Posts: 561
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default and this is why I only buy Seasonic power supplies :)

Right now I'm running the following on a 360W power supply.
AMD FX-8350 8-Core 4.2GHz CPU
16GB DDR3
WD VelociRaptor 10K SATA 300GB
GTX 500 Ti 2GB
Radeon HD 4350 1GB
DVDRW
6x 120mm fans
DVDRW
ASRock 970 Extreme3 Motherboard

on a:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151117
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2013
c_hegge's Avatar
c_hegge c_hegge is offline
Hardware Insights Owner/Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 588
Thanks: 10
Thanked 66 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Don't you mean a GTX 560 Ti?
__________________
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2013
Stefan Payne Stefan Payne is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,664
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Default

You should be fair because that's nothing special for a good quality ~400W PSU.

The Enermax Triathlor 385W would possibly fine with that too - but maybe a little bit louder...

And since there are no real high end PSUs in the 400W range (except for those fanless ones...)...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2013
shovenose shovenose is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fairfax, CA
Posts: 561
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Yeah I meant 550 Ti
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2013
yojo2's Avatar
yojo2 yojo2 is offline
~y
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 452
Thanks: 35
Thanked 51 Times in 43 Posts
Default

Any proper 360W PSU would run this rig w/o problems.
__________________
Xeon X3440 @3,1GHz + GTX660 + 2x2GB @1650MHz CL8 + Corsair TX650 (first rev)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2013
cypherpunks cypherpunks is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 440
Thanks: 19
Thanked 25 Times in 16 Posts
Default

I haven't checked the power specs on the components, but running two video cards plus a CPU on 360W is definitely something.

Thanks for sharing!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2013
allikat allikat is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England
Posts: 566
Thanks: 17
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Default

To be fair, that 4350 is a very low power card, 35-50w at most.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k with an XSPC Raystorm water block, 4x4GB Corsair Dominator, SLi Evga-GTX560Ti-448 FTWs, Asrock Extreme4 Gen3, Crucial M4 256GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD, powered by a Silverstone Strider+ 850 PSU in a Silverstone TJ-07BW case.
I'm not buying EK GPU blocks ever again. (One GPU killed)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2013
bobnova's Avatar
bobnova bobnova is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 377
Thanks: 5
Thanked 44 Times in 28 Posts
Default

4350 is 20w at absolute full burn. Not exactly a big load.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-04-2013
shovenose shovenose is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fairfax, CA
Posts: 561
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

that CPU uses so much I guess that's the only surprise here.
I'm going to try running two real graphics cards at some point, 32GB RAM, as well as 4x WD VelociRaptor in RAID10.
Then we'll see if the PSU can handle it :P
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-2013
bobnova's Avatar
bobnova bobnova is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 377
Thanks: 5
Thanked 44 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Two 560 Tis plus that CPU is a bad idea on a 360w PSU of any kind.
That's a 125w CPU, 560Ti is 170w/each.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.