jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2012
icu222much icu222much is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need PSU - i5-3570K, 7950 CF

I have selected my components, but am unsure how much power my system needs. I heard that it is very important to get a quality PSU as a cheaper one may damage your system. I plan to Crossfire my 7950s, and overclock my CPU and GPU to within safety temperatures. After doing some research on other builds similar to mine, I noticed that most people got PSUs around the 850w to 950w range. I wasn't sure if they also considered overclocking. In the future, I will also add on an additional one or two more 7200RPM hard drive.

I heard alot of good things about Corsair PSUs so I was thinking about getting a Corsair TX850. Would that provide enough power?

i5-3570k
CM Hyper 212 Evo
Gigabyte 7950 Crossfire
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GSkill Ripjaw 2x8GB
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Crucial M4 128GB
Rosewill Thor V2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2012
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Missouri; USA
Posts: 4,901
Thanks: 383
Thanked 490 Times in 352 Posts
Default

The TX850 would be almost double what your systems needs.

What is the price bracket you're looking at for a new PSU.
Like wise, where will you be shopping at?
__________________
Rig Specs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2012
icu222much icu222much is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Really? I see alot of other people with a similar build hovering at 850w, but I'm not sure if they have considered over clocking.

I'm looking for a PSU around $100CAD - $150CAD.

I'll be purchasing from either NCIX or Memory Express.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2012
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Missouri; USA
Posts: 4,901
Thanks: 383
Thanked 490 Times in 352 Posts
Default

For $150 CAD you can get a Seasonic XP-660.
That'd be your best option.

http://ncix.com/products/?sku=77826&...%20Electronics
__________________
Rig Specs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2012
allikat allikat is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England
Posts: 572
Thanks: 22
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

AMD's GPUs are not heavy power users, never have been. 15w at idle, 190w at maximum load on the overclocked models? Even if you start putting water blocks on them they'll never go over 250w each, and the rest of the rig doesn't need more than 200w.
You could run that on a 650w unit with reasonable comfort if you didn't go crazy with over-volting things. A 750 or 850w unit would be plenty, even with a big overclock on there.

Remember, you won't get as much of an overclock on X-fire linked cards as you would for each individual card, the same is true of SLI. The interlink takes processing power to run, which means more lower stable clocks at the same voltages.

You won't NEED an 850 unless you have a bottle of LN2 hiding in the back there, but it's certainly not the worlds most stupid move to spend the extra $10 or $20 to get the extra when buying a new PSU.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k with an XSPC Raystorm water block, 4x4GB Corsair Dominator, SLi Evga-GTX560Ti-448 FTWs, Asrock Extreme4 Gen3, Crucial M4 256GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD, powered by a Silverstone Strider+ 850 PSU in a Silverstone TJ-07BW case.
I'm not buying EK GPU blocks ever again. (One GPU killed)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2012
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Missouri; USA
Posts: 4,901
Thanks: 383
Thanked 490 Times in 352 Posts
Default

It's better to get a unit more suited to your system though, since 10% load efficiency is not high on most units.

The Seasonic I linked does very well in that regard.
__________________
Rig Specs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-16-2012
mdk777 mdk777 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,391
Thanks: 4
Thanked 84 Times in 74 Posts
Default

That Seasonic is a great value for the very best quality.

Stepping down, the GOLD 750's from Seasonic, Capstone, Fortress , etc. etc. have been going on sale now and then for $100. Holiday Season is a great time to wait for big percentage sales on Quality stuff...you just need to bide you time and only bite on things that really meet your requirements...

Today 32 GB 1600 CAS 9 memory on sale for $110. WOW. All I can say is WOW.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2012
icu222much icu222much is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to read psu connectors

I'm wondering how do I read psu connectors?

For example, the corsair tx850m says it has 4 x 6 + 2-pin pci-express connector. Does that mean it has four 6-pin pci-e, and four 8-pin pci-e connectors?

I'm cross firing 7970s which each requires 6pin / 8pin. Does that mean it needs both a 6pin and an 8pin to work? Or does it mean it only needs either a 6pin or an 8pin to work?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2012
rafal_iB_PL rafal_iB_PL is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,672
Thanks: 107
Thanked 174 Times in 154 Posts
Default

6 + 2 connector can be used both as 6-pin and 8-pin one. In former case you leave 2 pins unconnected.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2012
mdk777 mdk777 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,391
Thanks: 4
Thanked 84 Times in 74 Posts
Default

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...CE&PageSize=20

two Rosewill gold rated 750 and one ANTEC hpc 750 at the same price(AMIR)

Much better deals in the STATES, you could step up to a PLAT.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182084

I'm tempted and I don't even need one.

You don't need 850.

Quote:
Does that mean it needs both a 6pin and an 8pin to work?
Yes.

Quote:
Does that mean it has four 6-pin pci-e, and four 8-pin pci-e connectors?
4 total as described by rafal
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -