jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2007
flclisgreat flclisgreat is offline
custom titles are for losers
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question ok, i'm confused

my rig
Biostar T-Force 6100
Sempron 2800+ @2.6ghz
2gb G. Skill HZ pc6400 @5-5-5-15/520mhz
x1950xt @ stock for now (working on it)
500w xclio goodpower

my last psu was a fortron 400w. it had 18a on the 2 12v rails. this xclio has 14a and 15a on the 12v rails.

why did my fortron psu make noise when i put load on my vga, and why not the xclio?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2007
CAD4466HK's Avatar
CAD4466HK CAD4466HK is offline
Better you then me
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deland,Florida
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Possible loose transformer coil winding
Surely it has nothing to do with the +12V amp ratings on each said unit
__________________
MSI P67A-GD65
i72600K@4.8
Corsair H70
4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
Zalman ZM-MFC1
Lite-On Dvd burner
SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
Coolermaster HAF-932
"Experience is the benchmark of maturity"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2007
flclisgreat flclisgreat is offline
custom titles are for losers
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

just confused is all. the recommended psu for the card is at least 450w and 30a on the 12v rail. the xclio has the watts, but the fortron has more amps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2007
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,585
Thanks: 134
Thanked 180 Times in 124 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flclisgreat View Post
just confused is all. the recommended psu for the card is at least 450w and 30a on the 12v rail. the xclio has the watts, but the fortron has more amps.
You are confused. Watts and amps are the same thing.

Look at the combined 12V capability of the two PSU's. Not the amperage of each of two 12V rails.

You can have a PSU with less amperage on each +12V rail and still capable of more combined wattage.

You can have one, two, three or six 12V rails but because 99% of the time the +12V is from the same source, the combined wattage capability is really all that's important.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2007
flclisgreat flclisgreat is offline
custom titles are for losers
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i thought it was amps times volts=watts
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2007
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,585
Thanks: 134
Thanked 180 Times in 124 Posts
Default

It is. But since the value of volts is a known variable (+12V) then it goes without saying.

Amps per rail is only determined by an OCP (over current protection) circuit in most power supplies, so it can be any value from 0 to whatever the actual +12V rail is capable of (depending on the transformer and rectifier supplying the voltage to those rails) so you really should never look at how many "amps" each 12V rail is capable of because it all comes down to how many WATTS the combined capability of the 12V rails are. And that's not combined as in 12V1 + 12V2, etc. but combined as in what the label says combined is.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2007
flclisgreat flclisgreat is offline
custom titles are for losers
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok. sticker says the 5v and 3.3v are 140w, so the 12v has to be 360w. fortron sticker says 3.3v and 5v are 150w MAX and the 12v1 and 12v2 are 348w max
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2007
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,585
Thanks: 134
Thanked 180 Times in 124 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flclisgreat View Post
ok. sticker says the 5v and 3.3v are 140w, so the 12v has to be 360w. fortron sticker says 3.3v and 5v are 150w MAX and the 12v1 and 12v2 are 348w max
Nope. Just like how you can't add +12V rails, you can't add the 3.3V+5V with the +12V.

For example: Your Fortron was a 400W. But 150W + 348W = 498W. That's 98W greater than the PSU's total capability. So you can't assume that the +12V capability of your Xclio is the total minus the 3.3V and 5V combined.

There's no "combined +12V" rating underneath the listing of the two +12V rails, or perhaps in fine print somewhere?
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2007
flclisgreat flclisgreat is offline
custom titles are for losers
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

fortron is a 400w. that is what the sticker says. but it emphisises MAX

the xclio is a 500w
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2007
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,585
Thanks: 134
Thanked 180 Times in 124 Posts
Default

I'm just saying that 3.3V + 5V + 12V isn't typically additive. There's typically an overlap.

Using the FSP as an example: 150 + 348 = 498. 498 > 400W.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused about resistor labels. jonnyGURU Electronic Theory and Principle 18 02-28-2014 09:28 AM
Enough or not, I'm confused? dede99 PC Power Supply Discussion 6 11-02-2007 03:58 PM
Watts, Rails, and confused Please help HWF PC Power Supply Discussion 7 10-22-2007 06:36 PM
Please Help, I am very confused. PressX PC Power Supply Discussion 10 08-23-2007 09:08 PM
Newb...m soo confused nitric PC Power Supply Discussion 3 05-26-2007 03:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.