jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  

Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Old 04-18-2012
micro ATX User

Default Seasonic S12D 750W Load Balancing between the rails

Greetings from Romania,

I discovered johnnyGURU.com in late 2009 when i was planning to buy a new pc and looking after information for choosing a psu. The site and this forum really helped me a lot; here i learnt a lot about power supplies in general, how they work and the parts they ar made of. Though i'm not an engineer, i really liked the electicity chapters at phisics during the high school, so i knew the basics needed to understand the reviews and other articles here, and the fun manner in which they are written made me read with pleasure a lot of them.

I built the computer that i was talking about, in april 2010(it took so long because i was waiting for the nvidia gtx 400 series which launched a lot later than expected). The psu that i've chosen is the Seasonic S12D 750W, not because i needed so much power, simply because here in Romania, sometimes products are overpriced, so this power supply was only the equivalent of 10$ more expensive than a Corsair TX650W at the time.
Well, a month ago i had some very strange problems(freezing, black screens, bsods, artifacts, etc), it was the gtx470 that got broken and the warranty replaced it with a gtx 560TI 448.

This issue reminded me about an old dilema i had when i built the computer, and this is the question i have for you: How is the best way to distribute the load from the computer over the two rails that this psu provides? Or maybe a better question: Does this really matter?