jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > General Electronics > Electronic Component Discussion

Electronic Component Discussion Discussion of anything pertaining to electronics and the components that make them work

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2012
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St. Charles, MO; US
Posts: 3,801
Thanks: 22
Thanked 122 Times in 103 Posts
Default Jwco Capacitors

Does anyone have info on this guy?

Got a new product in for testing and found this cap sitting on the board next to a bunch of Rubycon XYFs so it felt a bit strange.

Wasn't able to find specs or a site on the cap, just that they're a chinese brand and that BadCaps doesn't like them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jwco Capacitor.jpg
Views:	273
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	1704  
__________________
Rig Specs (Has a HD5770 now)
Rig Picture
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2012
McSteel's Avatar
McSteel McSteel is offline
Naughty
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Disturbia
Posts: 1,417
Thanks: 17
Thanked 85 Times in 66 Posts
Default

I seriously question the authenticity of those Rubies you mentioned, if these cheapos are sitting right next to them. Jwco caps are available in my area, and I've had first-hand experience with them... To say that they're abysmal would be a compliment of sorts.

I already dislike the mystery product you're testing.
__________________
Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2012
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St. Charles, MO; US
Posts: 3,801
Thanks: 22
Thanked 122 Times in 103 Posts
Default

The rest of the product is full of Ruby's and every product before has used NCC, Sanyo (solid) or Ruby's.

So I think this was a last second addition to a pre-production sample.
I'll re-cap the guy and send them an email about it just in case.


Any way to tell if the Ruby's are fakes (or real) for certain?

They've got proper K shaped vents, as well as logos (font, size, style all the same.) I can see the bung on 5 of them. Though, I can't find a picture of a 25v 330uF bung to compare them to.
__________________
Rig Specs (Has a HD5770 now)
Rig Picture
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2012
McSteel's Avatar
McSteel McSteel is offline
Naughty
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Disturbia
Posts: 1,417
Thanks: 17
Thanked 85 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Only with an ESR meter, I suppose... It's hard to be certain if you don't have one handy, but depending on the supplier/real manufacturer, visual inspection is an adequate measure in most cases.
__________________
Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-11-2012
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St. Charles, MO; US
Posts: 3,801
Thanks: 22
Thanked 122 Times in 103 Posts
Default

mmm... well I'll look into it.

I don't have anything to test ESR with though. Know of any decent but inexpensive meters?
__________________
Rig Specs (Has a HD5770 now)
Rig Picture
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2012
mariush mariush is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Default

nevermind...

Last edited by mariush; 04-11-2012 at 05:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2012
McSteel's Avatar
McSteel McSteel is offline
Naughty
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Disturbia
Posts: 1,417
Thanks: 17
Thanked 85 Times in 66 Posts
Default

Well, if you have an o'scope, you could take a look at these links. If not, or you want something more straightforward and conclusive, this BLUE ESR Kit is a good and inexpensive choice. "Some assembly required" - you have to build it yourself! But all the parts are provided, and a detailed manual as well, you just need an hour of your time, a soldering iron, and you're set.

For around three times as much money, you could get a B&K 881 ESR Meter, which is actually less precise, but is fully assembled and ready to use.

Both BLUE and B&K are too expensive if you don't have a continued need for an ESR meter, IMHO.
__________________
Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2012
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St. Charles, MO; US
Posts: 3,801
Thanks: 22
Thanked 122 Times in 103 Posts
Default

I've got s stingray so I tried to do a test with that, ended up getting ~0.67Ω in a 30*C environment.

I can't find what unit they're using in the datasheet when they talk about ripple though. So I'm not sure if this value is good or not.
__________________
Rig Specs (Has a HD5770 now)
Rig Picture
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-12-2012
McSteel's Avatar
McSteel McSteel is offline
Naughty
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Disturbia
Posts: 1,417
Thanks: 17
Thanked 85 Times in 66 Posts
Default

0.67Ω is quite high for a capacitor of that size. It definitely isn't suited for power filtering applications, as it could get rather hot during operation (and heat further increases ESR). Ruby YXF 330uF/25V @ 20°C/100kHz has an ESR of ~0.16Ω, according to the datasheet.

Ripple current mentioned in the datasheet is the maximum peak to peak AC component that the capacitor is able to absorb without heating up (too much). This value is not strictly standardized, and different manufacturers use different methods to obtain it, so 1:1 comparisons aren't too useful, but in general, the higher the ripple current rating, the better. It's usually expressed in mA RMS (just as it is in the datasheet).
__________________
Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2012
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St. Charles, MO; US
Posts: 3,801
Thanks: 22
Thanked 122 Times in 103 Posts
Default

Mmm, well I'll shoot off an email about it.

Thankfully, I have to send the guy back anyways since the remote control function doesn't work properly.
__________________
Rig Specs (Has a HD5770 now)
Rig Picture
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.