jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2007
Sir_ReeL's Avatar
Sir_ReeL Sir_ReeL is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Upstate New York, near Oneonta
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default filtered case hunt

Hi, all!

I'm searching for a case for a very dusty dirty environment. Specifically, a CNC shop. Laser, plasma, 7 and 9 axis machining centers. Must be tower(large mid-tower might work if I'm wiley) or server sized and seriously filtered. Any sugestions on where to look? Thanks!

_ReeL
__________________
*Disclaimer: - I may be wrong, but I'm not unsure.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2007
madmat's Avatar
madmat madmat is offline
Just kidding, not banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In yer 'fridge, eatin' yer pizza
Posts: 1,785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The Tt Mozart TX is big and well filtered.
__________________
Sign Me!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2007
GalvanizedYankee's Avatar
GalvanizedYankee GalvanizedYankee is offline
Old knuckel bustin' wrench twister
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SoCal Moderator
Posts: 1,051
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Get real serious or forget clean air.

http://www.overclockers.com/tips1092/
Did this for the office comp atdiesel repair shop. The filter and it's fan noise were outside the closed office. We ran it through the wall. The office stayed noticably cleaner with pressurized clean air. There was no A/C in the office.

Abhi, a member at AnandTech, used this tip to cool the comp and LCD in his polymer manufacturing plant in India. A big thumbs up from him. Before using this set-up his comp would crash every two weeks.

Ask Per Hannson over at badcaps.net how bad the PCs get with the welding and laser cutting dust at his plant in Sweden. He set-up something similar but much nicer because he had time & material.

Oneof these could be built with finished wood and long threaded rods.
__________________
Worth a good looking over. http://www.badcaps.net/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2007
Bbq's Avatar
Bbq Bbq is offline
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 678
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had 4 ideas.

1. Something like an ITX board, a mobile processor, and heatpipes to the outside of the case. No external openings, no dust.
2. A custom case for a laptop, sealed off so nothing gets in
3. Watercooled EVERYTHING in a computer, with a huge passive rad (aqua airplex evo 1800 or so)
4. Extra long extensions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2007
Sir_ReeL's Avatar
Sir_ReeL Sir_ReeL is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Upstate New York, near Oneonta
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the ideas, guys. Every industrial case I've found is either inadaquate or waa-hoo expensive. I will probably end up modifying an oldish PCP&C server case I have in the spare parts room. Duct tape up the vents and build a filter box using a new car flat air filter. Don't have to be pretty, just dependable. Nothing worse than a program freezing 90% through a many-thousand-$ cut! _ReeL
__________________
*Disclaimer: - I may be wrong, but I'm not unsure.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2007
madmat's Avatar
madmat madmat is offline
Just kidding, not banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In yer 'fridge, eatin' yer pizza
Posts: 1,785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You know, you can build a frame out of Popsicle sticks and cover the frame with one layer of pantyhose of the medium mesh variety (guys with wives can get that info from them, I dunno what brand / style to look for, I'm not Joe Namath) and mount that over the case fans with velcro for a pretty effective filter on the cheap.
__________________
Sign Me!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2007
MrWicked1968's Avatar
MrWicked1968 MrWicked1968 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 1,589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

have the computer in another room and use a slave terminal (monitor, keyboard, and mouse) in the harsh environment.
__________________
Rig 1: Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 7 32-bit
Rig 2: AM3+ FX4100--Asus M5A 78L-M LX--2x4 GB Patriot 1333--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H--Win 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-18-2007
CAD4466HK's Avatar
CAD4466HK CAD4466HK is offline
Better you then me
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deland,Florida
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For 420 clams, this is the cheapest route for these guys, unless Uopt for the desktop

http://www.dustshield.com/std_details.asp?id=73&learn=4
__________________
MSI P67A-GD65
i72600K@4.8
Corsair H70
4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
Zalman ZM-MFC1
Lite-On Dvd burner
SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
Coolermaster HAF-932
"Experience is the benchmark of maturity"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-18-2007
Sir_ReeL's Avatar
Sir_ReeL Sir_ReeL is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Upstate New York, near Oneonta
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAD4466HK View Post
For 420 clams, this is the cheapest route for these guys, unless Uopt for the desktop

http://www.dustshield.com/std_details.asp?id=73&learn=4
That's an interesting concept, I hadn't concidered putting the whole enchalada in a box. Even the server one isn't outragous.

I also like the filter you designed, G-Yankee. I'll probably end up using a ghetto version of that. More self-contained, but with duct tape and maybe bailing wire if I can work it into the design. Hell, all y'alls ideas have merit - thanks for taking the time to edumacate me up real good! _ReeL
__________________
*Disclaimer: - I may be wrong, but I'm not unsure.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-18-2007
KorruptioN's Avatar
KorruptioN KorruptioN is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 192
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would rig up some sort of mechanism that allowed me to use furnace filters.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How about this case? signmeuptoo General Hardware 8 09-13-2007 08:40 PM
Should i get a new case or not baggedmazda General Hardware 5 07-27-2007 07:04 AM
New case... PaulTa General Hardware 24 03-27-2007 07:40 AM
AC in the case reg_pfj General Hardware 1 12-13-2006 06:28 PM
SF case CAD4466HK General Hardware 11 12-08-2006 02:09 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.