jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Site and Forum Topics > Testing Methodology Discussion

Testing Methodology Discussion Questions and comments regarding the testing methodologies used on jonnyguru.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2011
crmaris's Avatar
crmaris crmaris is offline
TPU PSU Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 986
Thanks: 27
Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
Default Some new toys, Chroma test fixture and Picoscopes











The Chroma board needs some modding since it has only two PCIe connectors and isn't equipped with the decoupling caps for ripple measurements.

The Picoscopes are great!! The poor stingray is a toy compared to them.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2013
Siorus Siorus is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Did you have to order that test fixture directly from Chroma? Picking one of those up would save me an awful lot of time over building one.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2013
crmaris's Avatar
crmaris crmaris is offline
TPU PSU Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 986
Thanks: 27
Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
Default

I did but they are useless. Only two PCIe!!! And they are really expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2013
Philipus II Philipus II is offline
PSU Editor ComputerBase.de&PC Games Hardware
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 442
Thanks: 64
Thanked 46 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Better try to get a Delta or Enermax one. Their test fixtures are way better.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-10-2013
crmaris's Avatar
crmaris crmaris is offline
TPU PSU Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 986
Thanks: 27
Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Delta is out of reach unless you got a good contact with them. The same goes of course with Enermax. In general these companies do not sell such boards to indivuduals at least.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2013
Siorus Siorus is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

That's basically what I figured (on both sourcing the Chroma and getting one from anyone else).

They might play ball with me because I'm going to be using it in a corporate environment, but I doubt it. The Chroma fixture doesn't have the capacity to deal with the load tester that I'm building, but adding a couple of additional PCI-E connectors on pigtails wouldn't be that hard, and having the BNC connectors for scope hookups would be nice. If it cost <=$700 or so, it'd be worth it versus the cost of my time to manufacture an interface of my own.

But I suspect that by the time I get through messing around with e-mailing any of these companies and actually get something ordered and shipped, it would've ultimately taken less time and been cheaper to just hack something together out of extension cables.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2013
crmaris's Avatar
crmaris crmaris is offline
TPU PSU Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 986
Thanks: 27
Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
Default

you want my advice? Go find a good modular board from a fully modular PSU and use this. Some Silverstone PSUs have very nice modular PCBs (I know this because I already use one for my CPU heatsink tester).

If wasn't a perfectionist I would follow the same way but I had a deep desire to spend some money so I have now three fixtures (Chroma, Delta and Enermax)

Also for some additional PCIe, EPS connectors you can use some 24 pin ATX extension cables of good guality. The PCIe and EPS connectors of a PSU can be connected on it
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2013
Siorus Siorus is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

That's actually not a bad idea. Obviously you'd have to use a modular board that doesn't have some weird, proprietary pinout like some of the Seasonic and Antec units do, but something like one of the Silverstone boards that you mentioned would work fine.

Hmm. I'll have to look into that. It'd be better than a bunch of extension cables if only so that the load tester doesn't end up looking like some kind of anime tentacle monster.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2013
crmaris's Avatar
crmaris crmaris is offline
TPU PSU Editor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 986
Thanks: 27
Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
Default

My first custom made loader was looking like a monster but it performed great! I didn't have the resources back then to destroy a Silverstone PSU and grab its modular PCB. But once I smoked one I used its chassis along with its modular board and built my CPU heatsink tester. I can hook up 4 PCIe and two EPS on it, along with the ATX cable. Not bad at all. But for the molex and SATA connectors you will have to use a custom PCB or just some extension cables.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.