jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Software > General Software

General Software Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-13-2011
Silk_the_Absent1's Avatar
Silk_the_Absent1 Silk_the_Absent1 is offline
Pragmatic Contrarian
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central NEW Mexico
Posts: 796
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default How's this for screwed up?

Bought 2012 on blu-ray today, because I found it enjoyable (okay, not the armchair geologist in me, but the mindless-action-loving-American in me did), and it was dirt cheap used at Hastings.

Pop it into my computer, and it gets to the menu, but that's it. No options, just a video looping. Checked it for scratches, none. Went on Google, it seems it's a common problem, owing to the fact that I have PowerDVD7.3 (came with my drive). Only versions 9 and 10 have gotten the update for it.

Any suggestions? Not exactly enthusiastic about having to spend a small fortune (for me) for a new program just because the company won't update this version, but I'm sure this will become more and more prevalent as newer movies are release, so I'm stuck.

-Adam
__________________
System 1: Core i5-4670K | Z97-Pro Gamer | RX480 GTR | 4*4GB PC3-17000 | 120GB EVO 850 | 2TB Caviar Black |2TB Spinpoint F4 | Lian-Li Rocketfish | Capstone 750-M
Portable Thingie: HP Pavillion G7-2320DX
Be the census taker... I'm hungry.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2011
Elledan's Avatar
Elledan Elledan is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Posts: 498
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Get a BR rip version? Since you bought the disc, it's perfectly legal to own a rip of it, even in the US
__________________
www.mayaposch.com - My personal site. Yes, I'm a girl geek
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2011
haru15b's Avatar
haru15b haru15b is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

or rip it yourself....i got one of the first Blu-ray Burners from Sony and i had the same issues. 7.3 with it but i need 8 to play most of the newer blu-rays. i just Rip them and change it from the MT2S to a MKV. load that up on my PS3 or VLC and go.
__________________
Antec Lanboy
Corsair Gaming Series GS600
ASRock M3A770DE AM3 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Crucial Ballistix 4GB(2X2GB) DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24-32-T2
Athlon II X2 240 Regor 2.8GHz AM3 65W
HIS Radeon HD 4850 Turbo 512MB
Sony Blu-ray Burner BDU-101U IDE
Western Digital Caviar SE16 500GB
Maxtor 500GB
Seagate 750GB

All that is Left is the Case and Some bigger storage Drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -