jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Software > Operating Systems

Operating Systems Troubleshooting and discussions of computer operating systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2009
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,541
Thanks: 131
Thanked 178 Times in 122 Posts
Default Need to install both Nvidia RAID and AHCI drivers on same install....

I've encountered a little problem here.....

On my builds, I set the Nvidia SATA controller to RAID even if I'm not currently setting up an array because IF I do need to set up an array, I just go into the RAID BIOS and add the necessary drives and there's no need to reinstall anything if you want to mirror a drive.

The problem is, AHCI is the default setting and if you switch from RAID to AHCI in the BIOS, you get a BSOD instead of Windows and the user freaks out.

Of course, if you toggle back to RAID, Windows boots right up again, but customers aren't that smart. You ask them if they changed anything in the BIOS and they typically say "no".

I would like to be able to install both RAID and AHCI drivers in Windows so it will boot up either way.

I already tried "update driver" and manually installed "Nvidia SATA Controller" and rebooted, but I still get the BSOD.

Any help?
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2009
cypherpunks cypherpunks is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 440
Thanks: 19
Thanked 25 Times in 16 Posts
Default

I'm more of a Windows-hater than expert, but I'd try using one of the techniques (either sysprep or just deleting the hard drive drivers before rebooting) to get Windows to boot on a different motherboard.

Then boot to AHCI, let it load drivers, then try switching back.

I'm not at all sure that'll work, but it's an idea.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2009
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,541
Thanks: 131
Thanked 178 Times in 122 Posts
Default

You know what's funny... I tried manually switching the drivers, but didn't try deleting them. Let me give that a shot.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2009
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,541
Thanks: 131
Thanked 178 Times in 122 Posts
Default

That didn't work.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2009
Stefan Payne Stefan Payne is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,630
Thanks: 1
Thanked 47 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Du you have an extra PCI Controller or an IDE to S-ATA Adaptor? (so you can plug a S-ATA Drive into an IDE port).

Without it, you'll have a problem since the AMD Chips are AFAIK the only ones that allow an IDE mode on 2 of the ports.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2009
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,541
Thanks: 131
Thanked 178 Times in 122 Posts
Default

No. I only have SATA ports. This is a notebook.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.