jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General PC Hardware

General PC Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware. Includes UPS's and monitors.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2008
TypeRazor TypeRazor is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to add more hard drives

so i have an 8 sata port motherboard, but i want to add 4 more hard drives.
i dont want to go usb route, esata, etc
is it possible to use a raid card without the software just for the hard drives?
i dont need redundancy of any kind, because whats on the drives is easily replaceable.

thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2008
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,449
Thanks: 450
Thanked 1,688 Times in 1,050 Posts
Default

So you want to have 12 hard drives?

Most RAID cards have what's called "JBOD" which stands for "Just A Bunch Of Drives". It seems to me that's what you're looking for.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2008
TypeRazor TypeRazor is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeh, i thought jbod would work, but i read that if one disk fails, they all fail
im not really sure, and thats pretty much why i posted...to kinda tiptoe around that but not seem stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2008
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,449
Thanks: 450
Thanked 1,688 Times in 1,050 Posts
Default

That's not true. That's true of RAID-0 when you're striping data across multiple drives that is seen by the OS as one drive. All JBOD is is JUST A BUNCH OF DRIVES. In other words: Multiple drive interfaces interfacing with multiple drives. If one drive dies, that drive dies and that's it. The data on that drive has nothing to do with the other drives outside of the fact that you're using the same controller card to control it.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2008
TypeRazor TypeRazor is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok awesome, thats what i originally figured, the wiki descript just threw me off since it included spanning with the description of jbod.
thanks again, and i look foreward to lurking around on your forums, there great!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2008
sdbardwick's Avatar
sdbardwick sdbardwick is online now
1kW User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I'd probably try one of the approx. $20 4 port SATA-PCI cards first; the only drawback would be the PCI bus transfer limitation of about 90MB/sec. If that is a problem, then there are PCI-E 1x cards with 2 SATA ports (maybe 4 port cards are available - I didn't look) which would remove the bandwidth restriction.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2008
TypeRazor TypeRazor is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeh im looking at a pcie 4x version right now, or if i can find a decently priced one pcix i would be happy.
i think im going to go down to my local shop since they get alot of big work i could get one of the cheap.
you think 256mb is enough cache?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2008
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TypeRazor View Post
.
you think 256mb is enough cache?
Easily. If you are not RAIDing the drives, an inexpensive card like you are looking at is a great option.
__________________
Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2008
TypeRazor TypeRazor is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ive got a follow up question, something im not sure it totally true...
i went with 8 1.5TB drives, going for RAID 5 or 6..probably 5

i read that RAID 5/6 drives do NOT spin down during idle time, if this is the case its going to get real hot, even with my high fans...so is it true and is there a way around it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many hard drives with the Earthwatts 380W PSU? dangman4ever PC Power Supply Discussion 2 12-22-2007 12:50 AM
PSU for hard drives? fullmetal chocobo PC Power Supply Discussion 1 03-27-2007 04:42 AM
Swap file tweaking with multiple hard drives SixIron Operating Systems 24 03-15-2007 12:08 PM
Fantom Drives 120GB Titanium II Combo Firewire & USB 2.0 External Hard Drive Kab Hot Deals 0 03-15-2007 09:27 AM
Multiple Hard Drives on single feed. Minerva PC Power Supply Discussion 3 03-01-2007 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -