jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-29-2008
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is online now
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,448
Thanks: 125
Thanked 161 Times in 109 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spursindonesia View Post
If the system uses a PCI controller or two, that scenario might very well be true, right ?
Yes. But the controller's not going to be on the motherboard. That's what I was saying. I would hope that if you had 10 HDD's on a computer you would have staggered start up regardless of what kind of PSU you had.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-29-2008
rip97000 rip97000 is offline
500W User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

jonnyGURU:

i recently saw a couple power supplies that could "switch" (auto and manual) between multiple 12v and a single 12v rail. would this also be a marketing gimic?

Quote:
On Tagan’s website they mention a “Turbo Mode” to which all six rails can auto-magically be converted into a single beady 12v rail.3dgameman.com
Quote:
Manual +12V rails “TURBO” mode can integrate +12V rails into single rail with more DC output for heavy +12V loading. technoyard.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-29-2008
HOOfan_1's Avatar
HOOfan_1 HOOfan_1 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 1,504
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I am wondering if that just turns off the Over Current Protection or something.

Last edited by HOOfan_1; 03-29-2008 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-29-2008
cypherpunks cypherpunks is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 440
Thanks: 19
Thanked 25 Times in 16 Posts
Default It's real, once you understand it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rip97000 View Post
i recently saw a couple power supplies that could "switch" (auto and manual) between multiple 12v and a single 12v rail. would this also be a marketing gimic?
Well, once you understand that "multiple rails" is only about current limits, it should be blindingly obvious what that "feature" does: ignores the current limits. I've seen these "automatic rail fusion" lights, and that's simply connecting the overcurrent detector to an LED rather than shutdown.

So it depends on what you define as a "gimmick". It is something that the PSU does differently, and not just a fancy name for a feature that all PSUs have. But it is just a fancy name for a simple feature, and further misleads the people who think that the power the electric company provides to them is somehow different from the power it supplies to their neighbour.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-29-2008
rip97000 rip97000 is offline
500W User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cypherpunks:
forgive me i have horrible spelling (gimic vs gimmick above)

i understand current limits and multiple rails, but i was asking more about what jonnyGURU said above (sorry i'm not good at these forums and explaining what i mean yet):
Quote:
Is it true that some PSU's that claim to be multiple +12V rails don't have the +12V rail split at all?

Yes, this is true. But it's the exception and not the norm. It's typically seen in Seasonic built units (like the Corsair HX and Antec True Power Trio.) It's actually cheaper to make a single +12V rail PSU because you forego all of the components used in splitting up and limiting each rail and this may be one reason some OEM's will not split the rails, but say they are split. Some system builders adhere very closely to ATX12V specification for liability reasons, so a company that wants to get that business but also save money and reduce R&D costs will often "fib" and say the PSU has it's +12V split when it does not.
so are companies "fibbing" when they claim to switch between single and multiple rails?
__________________
Future Build: Thermaltake Spedo Advance Package | Corsair HX1000 | Sapphire Pure CrossFireX PC-AM2RD790 | Phenom 9950 | Scythe SCINF-1000 | G.SKILL DDR2 1066 2GB X2 | SAPPHIRE 4870 X 2 separate cards | Seagate 1TB | Logitech G11 | CyberPower Intelligent LCD 1500VA 900W | Samsung 22" Wide X2

Current Desktop: coming soon!

Laptop: coming soon!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-29-2008
HOOfan_1's Avatar
HOOfan_1 HOOfan_1 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 1,504
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rip97000 View Post

so are companies "fibbing" when they claim to switch between single and multiple rails?
looking at Jonny's review of the NZXT (built by Topower) I would say yes....looks like this PSU doesn't use OCP whether the switch is on multi or single
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-30-2008
Makalu's Avatar
Makalu Makalu is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 677
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good work Jon...something about the "multiple rails trap power" FUD would be nice to see too.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-30-2008
Killy's Avatar
Killy Killy is offline
500W User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So, in the end, a well done multi-rail psu > single rail?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-30-2008
Stefan555's Avatar
Stefan555 Stefan555 is offline
Shuttle user
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would say a well done multi-rail = single rail, no differences apart from rail distribution and safety
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-30-2008
Smirnoff's Avatar
Smirnoff Smirnoff is offline
ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 527
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Very enlightening, and bookmarked for later reference. I was one of those who fell for the "single rail good, multi rail bad" thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple PSU vs Single TeamWahoo PC Power Supply Discussion 6 09-30-2008 08:57 AM
any dual rails PSU that are actually single rails inside lin PC Power Supply Discussion 10 07-04-2007 10:51 PM
SS DA750 quad rails or single rail actually? wedfighter PC Power Supply Discussion 7 04-12-2007 02:32 PM
Multiple Hard Drives on single feed. Minerva PC Power Supply Discussion 3 02-28-2007 11:16 PM
Multiple rails or one rail? What's the difference? PaulTa PC Power Supply Discussion 13 02-08-2007 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.