jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #171  
Old 01-09-2012
Travis's Avatar
Travis Travis is offline
PSU backseat driver
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 2,296
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider0001 View Post
Could anyone stop this thread ? it is pointless the only conclusion is:
-1 rail is better
- many rails - safer
No, conclusion itself is pointless and can be quite misleading to some guys like you. The point is, system builders must know What “rail” actually is and How it affects your system, otherwise you won't understand Why Seasonic Platinum series is indeed a multiple-rail PSU but it's still treated as a single-rail one.
__________________
Engrish is my second language.
Protect your kid from e-Porno with Green Damn.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Travis For This Useful Post:
jonnyGURU (02-13-2013)
  #172  
Old 01-09-2012
Zero82z Zero82z is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider0001 View Post
Could anyone stop this thread ? it is pointless the only conclusion is:
-1 rail is better
- many rails - safer
Generally, posting in a thread is not a good way to decrease the activity in it, especially when nobody else has posted in a month.

Also, your "conclusion" is wrong.
__________________
Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 07-05-2013
booya booya is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think that multiple rails are not very comfortable in use. For example:

I have Platimax 1500 (for about 1,5 year) with 3-sli NV cards, each can consume up to 300 W precisely (just under 3DMark), but it's not a peak power (I can't catch it). Plus MB and CPU: 8-pin + 4-pin for CPU, 6-pin for PCI-e slot.

Enermax wrote that this PSU has several V12+ lines each 30A. And I think it's not enough:



And in manual I can see only (thanks to Enermax for that info, it's better than nothing):



Does this mean that a few lines can give me up to 39A guaranteed for a long period of time (without exceeding the total capacity of PSU)? I tryed to connect two cards at the same rail and load them at 280W each. Tested this only for a few mins, all was fine, but it's only a few mins.

But anyway, I prefer Seasonic and Flextroncs (AX1200, but not 1200i - had with it some troubles) way - a single rail. And I am aware that there may be a problem in this case, but I am ready to take responsibility. Also many users got Seasonic x1250 and Corsair AX1200(i) and don't have any problems caused by one 12V+ rail.

Plus it's more comfortable to connect all of these cables with only one rail, because of this:



Why should we have to think how to connect all these stuff? It's OK if we having a in this moment... But if not?
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 07-05-2013
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,437
Thanks: 125
Thanked 159 Times in 107 Posts
Default

I think you need to read the thread. You shouldn't have to think about these things. Plug the stuff in and fire up the PC. If you overload a rail, the PSU shuts off. That's been stated over and over and over again in this thread.

12V @ 300W = 25A. ANY rail on that Enermax can handle TWO of those graphics cards at full load. Enermax rates everything at continuous ouput. So there's no way you're going to trip the OCP on that PSU, so there's no reason to "think how to connect all these stuff".
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 07-05-2013
Stefan Payne Stefan Payne is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 1
Thanked 41 Times in 36 Posts
Default

And that's the main problem about multi rail...

People think too much about it, because they don't think that the manufacturer already thought about rail distribution.

Buttom Line:
You don't need to worry about it! Just put the things together like the manufacturer intended to, it's highly improbable that the OCP would trip...
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 07-05-2013
Philipus II Philipus II is offline
PSU Editor ComputerBase.de&PC Games Hardware
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 374
Thanks: 55
Thanked 37 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Triggering OCP can only happen withn extreme OC (LN2 cooling etc.) or really poorly designed psus.. With your Platimax - no way.
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 07-05-2013
booya booya is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

jonnyGURU
>12V @ 300W = 25A. ANY rail on that Enermax can handle TWO of those graphics cards at full load.
But Enermax rated each rail only at 0-30A. And two OC`ed cards will consume 600W (that's for sure) continuously (e.g. 3DMark) not counting the peak load. As about OCP range (40-50A) - I don't know under what conditions and for how long.

>Enermax rates everything at continuous ouput.
It's about 30A or 40-50A?

Stefan Payne
>People think too much about it, because they don't think that the manufacturer already thought about rail distribution.
And even warned:



Users must think about it too, to avoid problems with sudden shutdowns under heavy load. That's why Enermax made wiring diagram. So I had to make my own scheme, like this:




Philipus II
>Triggering OCP can only happen withn extreme OC (LN2 cooling etc.) or really poorly designed psus.. With your Platimax - no way.
But each rail rated at 30A = 360W, two cards = 600W (without any peak load).



So in my opinion, ideal PSU:
- stupid (not like AX1200i)
- 1500-2000W
- with a few 12V rails ~70A each guaranteed
- water cooled, cause even with another fan (Kama Flex SA1325FDB12H @ 1600 rpm) my Platimax 1500 it's the noisiest component in my PC under heavy load. Or I need to install a second PSU (e.g. Seasonic Platinum-1000 for one card or one card + MB/CPU).

About AX1200i. I had it for a few weeks. Under load when PSU took from the wall ~1150W, my PC could shuts off and after a few seconds start-up again. Overload protection? So why it looks like motherboard switched power off for a short period of time? It was in Far Cry 3. Maybe my AX1200i was faulty (sold it), but under 3DMark11 + Prime95 it happened as soon as I started Prime95 with a short delay (few secs.). Platimax 1500 was able to hold this load and I saw from the wall consumption about 1380 and max 1400W. So in case of AX1200i it was an overload protection. But under Far Cry 3 this could happen after 30-40 minuts.

AX1200i has a manually adjustable OCP for each PCI-e rail. This PSU is smart and I don't like it

I thought that in case of OCP, the PSU will never turn itself on before we switch it off/on (by a toggle on its back).
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 07-05-2013
Philipus II Philipus II is offline
PSU Editor ComputerBase.de&PC Games Hardware
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 374
Thanks: 55
Thanked 37 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Vid 1, 2 and 3 all got their own rail. So every GPU can get 30A (360 w plus the power of the slot) without any concern. In fact, even 39A wouldn't be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 07-05-2013
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,437
Thanks: 125
Thanked 159 Times in 107 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booya View Post
jonnyGURU
>12V @ 300W = 25A. ANY rail on that Enermax can handle TWO of those graphics cards at full load.
But Enermax rated each rail only at 0-30A. And two OC`ed cards will consume 600W (that's for sure) continuously (e.g. 3DMark) not counting the peak load. As about OCP range (40-50A) - I don't know under what conditions and for how long.
Again: Read how multiple +12V rails work. They set the OCP to 40A~50A each. Each rail is fed by a single source. That single source is capable of 125A. The most limiting factor is actually the pins of the connector, which is probably why Enermax suggests only 30A per rail. If you only use each modular connector for one card, that's still only 300W per card OC'd. That's only 25A. 25A < 30A.

You're over thinking it.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 07-06-2013
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
Phaedrus2129 Phaedrus2129 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,030
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

People in engineering and product management spend hours upon hours making sure that the customer has to do the minimum amount of thinking possible when using their product (because many customers are not good at thinking). Any good power supply (like yours) is designed to require *no* thought as to rail distribution. The engineers and PMs already thought it through, so you don't have to.

Have a little respect for their efforts. Just shut up, plug it in, and go.
__________________
It's my PSU in a box!
Ooo-ooh,
My PSU in a box, baby!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple PSU vs Single TeamWahoo PC Power Supply Discussion 6 09-30-2008 08:57 AM
any dual rails PSU that are actually single rails inside lin PC Power Supply Discussion 10 07-04-2007 10:51 PM
SS DA750 quad rails or single rail actually? wedfighter PC Power Supply Discussion 7 04-12-2007 02:32 PM
Multiple Hard Drives on single feed. Minerva PC Power Supply Discussion 3 02-28-2007 11:16 PM
Multiple rails or one rail? What's the difference? PaulTa PC Power Supply Discussion 13 02-08-2007 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.