jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2007
Makalu's Avatar
Makalu Makalu is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 677
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Gigabyte power supplies

These units look interesting to me and I would like to see how they do on a load tester if any kind soul hereabouts can get their hands on one. Made by Channel Well and comes with some pretty interesting software for monitoring:

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/...y/Default.aspx

poorly translated review here:

http://translate.google.com/translat...&hl=en&ie=UTF8

Last edited by Makalu; 06-23-2007 at 09:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2007
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,623
Thanks: 137
Thanked 189 Times in 131 Posts
Default

http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2261

I would be interested to see how well the software works.

I used to think you could adjust the rails via software, but I guess not.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2007
Makalu's Avatar
Makalu Makalu is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 677
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oops sorry I didn't see the other thread. The manual shows screenshots of software adjustable positive voltages (within Intel specs), which had me wondering just how the heck that is accomplished. And yeah it would be interesting to know just how accurate the voltage, current and watt readings are.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2007
SKYMTL's Avatar
SKYMTL SKYMTL is offline
Crazy Canuck
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 985
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The software is a bit buggy and I haven't cracked it open yet but it seems like Gigabyte means business with these PSUs. I only had a few minutes with it in my test system so I can't really say how well it performs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2007
Makalu's Avatar
Makalu Makalu is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 677
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is it buggy as in inaccurate readings or buggy as in errors and crashing?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2007
SKYMTL's Avatar
SKYMTL SKYMTL is offline
Crazy Canuck
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 985
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Errors and crashing but I have a beta version and I am due to get the retail version sometime next week.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
K-Mex Power Supplies Abu Som3a PC Power Supply Discussion 24 01-10-2009 03:06 PM
Power Supplies Around The World jonnyGURU PC Power Supply Discussion 0 03-28-2008 11:10 AM
Roundup of 105 Power Supplies...I kid you not. SKYMTL PC Power Supply Discussion 20 04-27-2007 08:59 AM
Random power supplies Numark PC Power Supply Discussion 8 02-03-2007 06:28 PM
Deciding between four power supplies Geezerman PC Power Supply Discussion 7 01-31-2007 12:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.