jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-06-2018
hcmake77 hcmake77 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi!. Glad i found this post. i had to register to get a say. I just recently bought seasonic focus plus gold 750W to replace my old corsair cs600.
After swapping out the power i started having exact same issues as OP.

Also some graphical glitches after Bios screen (long white line on secondary display). It seemed gpu failed straight after POST.

Swapped my old power back and no problem. Returned the focus plus as defective and got prime gold 850w (because 750 focus was out of stock)

Got home installed the prime gold and went gaming and BAM no signal (sounds still work in the backround). Also windows said that graphics did not power on
did all the tricks in the book (uninstall gfx driver etc etc, even reset bios) but none worked other than swapping back to old corsair power and no problem again.

Did power testing by running realbench for cpu and furmark for gpu (100% loads and 120% power demand for gpu) no crashing.
Crashing usualy takes place after starting game like Deus ex Manking divided. (can take up to hour to crash or crashes right on the menus)

My rig is
i7-7700k
asus z270F
16gb hx ram
asus 970gtx strix
m.2 ssd samsung nvme
2x sata ssd
1x 7200rpm sata
23xi hp display (hdmi)
asus 24mg display (DP)
also corsair m65, k70 mice/kb
Also have a APC surge protector for my pc corner.

Last edited by hcmake77; 01-06-2018 at 02:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-06-2018
ehume's Avatar
ehume ehume is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,143
Thanks: 808
Thanked 99 Times in 86 Posts
Default

Too many examples to be a coincidence. An incompatibility between AS.S 970gtx and Seasonic PSU's? Q - have Seasonic engineers looked into this?
__________________
open air testing rig in basement:
Core i7 8700k 5GHz Vcore = 1.37v, HT enabled; Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
2x8GB Corsair DPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz Vdimm 1.35v
Intel 4600 graphics using 1GB system memory; Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
various heatsinks (depends on what I am testing ATM); PSU: Seasonic X-460FL (fanless)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-06-2018
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction
Posts: 996
Thanks: 22
Thanked 67 Times in 63 Posts
Default

Would be nice to measure the voltages at the video card end. Overclocking takes away the safety margin.

Last edited by ashiekh; 01-06-2018 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-06-2018
hcmake77 hcmake77 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
Would be nice to measure the voltages the video card end. Overclocking takes away the safety margin.
Sorry, i dont have that kind of equipment at hand .
Also that was first thing i shot down. The clocks. also tried to underclock as a post @ nvforums suggested... no help tought.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-06-2018
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,737
Thanks: 469
Thanked 1,809 Times in 1,119 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcmake77 View Post
Hi!. Glad i found this post. i had to register to get a say. I just recently bought seasonic focus plus gold 750W to replace my old corsair cs600.
CS or GS?

If it was a CS, it's not that old and not a bad PSU. No reason to replace.

If it was a GS.. Yeah.... Throw it away.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-06-2018
hcmake77 hcmake77 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ehume View Post
Too many examples to be a coincidence. An incompatibility between AS.S 970gtx and Seasonic PSU's? Q - have Seasonic engineers looked into this?
Ive found only this post wich is similiar to my problem. Are you saying this is common ?

Only reason for me to upgrade my psu to seasonic was the idea of getting a new graphics card. So if the problem is with the 970 gtx cards i could get another seasonic when i get the suitable graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-06-2018
ehume's Avatar
ehume ehume is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,143
Thanks: 808
Thanked 99 Times in 86 Posts
Default

No. Just two examples -- your examples -- of an older PSU working and two newer ones of differing wattages from a reputable manufacturer not working. Since we assume that Seasonic achieves better than 50% success, there is likely an incompatibility involved.
__________________
open air testing rig in basement:
Core i7 8700k 5GHz Vcore = 1.37v, HT enabled; Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
2x8GB Corsair DPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz Vdimm 1.35v
Intel 4600 graphics using 1GB system memory; Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
various heatsinks (depends on what I am testing ATM); PSU: Seasonic X-460FL (fanless)
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ehume For This Useful Post:
hcmake77 (01-06-2018)
  #18  
Old 01-06-2018
hcmake77 hcmake77 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
CS or GS?

If it was a CS, it's not that old and not a bad PSU. No reason to replace.

If it was a GS.. Yeah.... Throw it away.
Had to check it to confirm. Its actualy CX600 non modular. Not best but gets the job done. Too many alphabet combos in pc parts these days
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-06-2018
Seasonic Rep's Avatar
Seasonic Rep Seasonic Rep is offline
650w User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 291
Thanks: 28
Thanked 134 Times in 69 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcmake77 View Post
Hi!. Glad i found this post. i had to register to get a say. I just recently bought seasonic focus plus gold 750W to replace my old corsair cs600.
After swapping out the power i started having exact same issues as OP.

Also some graphical glitches after Bios screen (long white line on secondary display). It seemed gpu failed straight after POST.

Swapped my old power back and no problem. Returned the focus plus as defective and got prime gold 850w (because 750 focus was out of stock)

Got home installed the prime gold and went gaming and BAM no signal (sounds still work in the backround). Also windows said that graphics did not power on
did all the tricks in the book (uninstall gfx driver etc etc, even reset bios) but none worked other than swapping back to old corsair power and no problem again.

Did power testing by running realbench for cpu and furmark for gpu (100% loads and 120% power demand for gpu) no crashing.
Crashing usualy takes place after starting game like Deus ex Manking divided. (can take up to hour to crash or crashes right on the menus)

My rig is
i7-7700k
asus z270F
16gb hx ram
asus 970gtx strix
m.2 ssd samsung nvme
2x sata ssd
1x 7200rpm sata
23xi hp display (hdmi)
asus 24mg display (DP)
also corsair m65, k70 mice/kb
Also have a APC surge protector for my pc corner.
Hello,

Sorry to read this issue.
Just to make sure, what cables are you using with your PSU's? Else, in order to track this, do you think possible to contact us (or Pm me an email address) to get all info (serial number, test done etc..) for our HQ to check this and see if they can find the same issue as yours. Right now, this is the only 2 cases we are aware of and like FOCUS Plus is selling quite well, I'm sure we would have been contacted or warned by our resellers if any incompatibility happened.

Thank you and sorry for the inconvenience.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ehume View Post
Too many examples to be a coincidence. An incompatibility between AS.S 970gtx and Seasonic PSU's? Q - have Seasonic engineers looked into this?
Like I'mlate to upgrade, my GTX 970 Strix and my PRIME are working quite well lately so I guess there's something else. We will find and I'm sure we will solve this issue.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Seasonic Rep For This Useful Post:
ehume (01-06-2018)
  #20  
Old 01-06-2018
Al3xand3r's Avatar
Al3xand3r Al3xand3r is offline
Transistor abuser
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 226
Thanks: 95
Thanked 58 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Quote:
Like I'mlate to upgrade, my GTX 970 Strix and my PRIME are working quite well lately so I guess there's something else. We will find and I'm sure we will solve this issue.
Seasonic Rep you made me curious. Wich model of PRIME do you have? Titanium? Platinum? Gold?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -