jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2017
PontiacGTX PontiacGTX is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Which of the following AVR is the best choice for a >1000w PSU?

I am needing to stabilize the voltage because there are variations each few hours(due to various reasons) plus the electricity overall in my country isnt the best in stbaility ,my house has 120Va outlet 50-60Hz

the choices i have

an used
http://www.apc.com/shop/us/en/produc...lator/P-LE1200

a new
https://www.tripplite.com/shared/pro...ES/VR1208R.pdf
for 2.5x times the APC AVR

a new
http://avtek.com/productos/rls-1221-...res-de-voltaje
for 50% more than the Tripplite

my setup is using currently 700-800w but I plan to use another card and overclock
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,068
Thanks: 422
Thanked 1,550 Times in 959 Posts
Default

There's no way that AVTEK has the hardware needed to regulate mains voltage. Looks like a surge suppressor to me.

So you're not having brown outs? Just drop in voltage? Because otherwise, I'd suggest a UPS w/ AVR built in (which is 99% of the UPS's on the market).
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements aka Yellowbeard
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2017
PontiacGTX PontiacGTX is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

voltage drops sometimes but there are brown outs ocasionally


Do you think the TrippLite can handle 1200A(10A)? because I saw somewhere it said 5A and I dont see information from their page
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,068
Thanks: 422
Thanked 1,550 Times in 959 Posts
Default

I don't doubt TrippLite's claims. They're a trusted American company that's been around since 1922.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements aka Yellowbeard
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2017
PontiacGTX PontiacGTX is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have seen they refer to 1200VA(Volts-Ampers) but not to 1200W as usually can expect , some say 1200VA but shows only cna regulate 600W because only handle 5A
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,068
Thanks: 422
Thanked 1,550 Times in 959 Posts
Default

Ah.. Yes. But never is power factor only .50.

So I tried to look up that model. Apparently, it's unique for your region. TrippLite typically rates in Watts, so it's odd that this is rated in VA and wattage is not defined. Something that is truly rated at 1200VA should be good for at least 720W. But the fact that they don't specify wattage or amperage, but do specify VA does give me confidence that if the PF was .99 that it could support 10A @ 120V.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements aka Yellowbeard
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2017
PontiacGTX PontiacGTX is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it seems that only regulates 500w based on this, what if it isnt rated for PFC 0.5 but it is using only 5 Amper instead 10?
https://www.tecnogaba.com/REGULADOR-...S-TR,44998_142

here some picture of the description, that I found on internet



getting the APC wouldnt be a better bet? or you still think the tripplite is ok I will use an EVGA 1300W

Last edited by PontiacGTX; 09-17-2017 at 02:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,068
Thanks: 422
Thanked 1,550 Times in 959 Posts
Default

I wonder where they got that info. Because it's not on Tripp-Lite's website, in the manual, on the spec sheet, etc.

For something to be 1200VA @ 500W, it would need a power factor of .40 and I can't imagine what you would plug into that with that low of a power factor.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements aka Yellowbeard
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-18-2017
PontiacGTX PontiacGTX is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 30
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just checking other other options is this worth considering to get?
https://articulo.mercadolibre.com.ve...r1500g-lcd-_JM

it is a 1500VA/900W btu ym psu is 1300w
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-18-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,068
Thanks: 422
Thanked 1,550 Times in 959 Posts
Default

The CyberPower should be good too.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements aka Yellowbeard
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -