jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > GPU Discussion

GPU Discussion Discuss video card processors here: Past, present and future! No Nvidia v. ATI flames, please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2016
Makentox Makentox is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 18
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 2 cables or 1 to power up GPU?

https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/...pecifications/
http://www.evga.com/Products/Product...210-GQ-0650-V1
Hello,
Do i have to use 2 pcie cables from PSU to power up GPU or will one cable with 2 connectors do the job?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2016
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Missouri; USA
Posts: 4,974
Thanks: 398
Thanked 508 Times in 366 Posts
Default

Dividing the load up between 2 cables is a better solution; but if you really want a clean look to your build, it's fine to use a single cable.
__________________
Rig Specs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-15-2016
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
Dividing the load up between 2 cables is a better solution; but if you really want a clean look to your build, it's fine to use a single cable.
+1
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-15-2016
Makentox Makentox is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 18
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But how using 2 cables is better? Performance? Stability? Will GPU draw too much of currency and overheat?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2016
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

AFAIK because that reduces cabling resistance, but usually (AFAIK) that's also negligible.
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2016
rafal_iB_PL rafal_iB_PL is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,690
Thanks: 114
Thanked 176 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makentox View Post
But how using 2 cables is better? Performance? Stability? Will GPU draw too much of currency and overheat?
Current, not currency.

And actually it will draw roughly the same current in both ways. But when you have 2 cables, current splits between them. When on one cable, first PCI-E connector takes combined current for both of them (via Kirchoff's Current Law). This can be problematic if you have power hungry card as it could be more than single connector can handle (connectors are known to burn with 300+ W board power consumption, 250-300 W ones could be problematic longer term). Your 670 is a bit more frugal though, so if you don't OC card heavily, you should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2016
sdbardwick's Avatar
sdbardwick sdbardwick is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rafal_iB_PL View Post
When on one cable, first PCI-E connector takes combined current for both of them (via Kirchoff's Current Law).
So you are saying that no current flows in l2 below?
Code:
12V-------+----------+
          |          |
          | l1       | l2
          |          |
GND-------+----------+
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2016
McSteel's Avatar
McSteel McSteel is offline
Naughty
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Serbia
Posts: 2,225
Thanks: 120
Thanked 428 Times in 295 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdbardwick View Post
So you are saying that no current flows in l2 below?
Code:
12V-------+----------+
          |          |
          | l1       | l2
          |          |
GND-------+----------+
Indeed it doesn't. But that's not an accurate representation of the circuit that the chained PCI-E cable makes. It's this one:

Code:

12V---------------+
                  |
             +----+----+
           LOAD       LOAD
             +----+----+
                  |
GND---------------+
So the voltage is the same on both attached devices, and the current flow will depend on their internal impedance (which goes down as power requirements go up).
__________________
Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2016
cheapie's Avatar
cheapie cheapie is offline
That weird furry girl they warned you about
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Earth, I think
Posts: 334
Thanks: 28
Thanked 86 Times in 55 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdbardwick View Post
So you are saying that no current flows in l2 below?
I think the concern was more along the lines of this:
Code:
      J1A        J2A
+12V---O----------O
       |          |
       |          |
       \          \
       /CARD      /CARD
       \1         \2
       /          /
       \          \
       |          |
       |          |
GND----O----------O
      J1B        J2B
Since the cables are often constructed by crimping 2 wires into each pin on the first connector (one to the PSU, one to the second connector), all current for the 2 connectors (J1 and J2 here) will be flowing through the pins of the first connector (J1).

Seeing as how that's a crimped connection, I'd assume that the resistance would be even lower than that of the connection to the socket. Therefore, I wouldn't think it would be much of an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-24-2017
Apemantus Apemantus is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My first post here. I'm sorry if this is too stupid to ask. I apologize. Does it matter if you use two cables that each have "dedicated" single-ended PCI-E connectors or if you use two cables that each have double-ended PCI-E connectors on the GPU side? I have an ASUS 1080 Ti with two 8-pin power connectors.
If this question is a waste of time, feel free to delete my account and ban me from the Internet forever. I'll go quietly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -