jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2016
Sean13290 Sean13290 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovia
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default CHIEFTEC CPS-500S Force

Hello my first post here,

I have a question about CHIEFTEC CPS-500S Force, I ned a new PSU and I found this in a local store at good price and I want to know is it any good for my system and reliable for my needs.

My rig is AMD A10 6800K with 8 GB of ram Corsair Dom's platinum a 1 T HDD WD Blue and a GTX 1060 3GB.

Now I know this is more than enough wattage for my needs but will it be reliable and safe to run my gaming system on, in future I plan to add an SSD very soon and upgrade to Kaby Lake maybe an overclock able I5 maybe a regular I5.
The offer in the store is very nice 30% of for their 5th anniversary for being open, and my budget is kinda tight I dont know how far I can stretch it for a more expensive unit.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2016
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human ( by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Please link to a local online shop / online price comparator

(BTW our co-forumer Microflop should have reviewed it, and it turned out not good).
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2016
Sean13290 Sean13290 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovia
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The price here is 40 euro after discount and where I live technology is more expensive and I cant seem to ind a store that has it in stock.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2016
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,110
Thanks: 297
Thanked 1,104 Times in 725 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean13290 View Post
My rig is AMD A10 6800K with 8 GB of ram Corsair Dom's platinum a 1 T HDD WD Blue and a GTX 1060 3GB.
You already have it? Because this is some bad combination of components.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2016
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human ( by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean13290 View Post
The price here is 40 euro after discount and where I live technology is more expensive and I cant seem to ind a store that has it in stock.
Please, if you're looking for advice, just link to some local popular/trustable shops/engines which sells PSUs: thanks.

(...I wonder where McSteel is when we need him... )
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2016
Sean13290 Sean13290 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovia
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
You already have it? Because this is some bad combination of components.
Ok I have this and as I said in OP I plan to upgrade the platform to Kaby lake in upcoming months.

Now my question s will this PSU be reliable and enough I am not overclockig anything.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2016
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,110
Thanks: 297
Thanked 1,104 Times in 725 Posts
Default

It's a low-end power supply with low performance and low quality and doesn't have support for the new power states from Intel CPU's so don't expect much from it. It would be smart to buy something better.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2016
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human ( by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean13290 View Post
Now my question s will this PSU be reliable and enough I am not overclockig anything.
So, given your question:
Quote:
Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
Please, if you're looking for advice, just link to some local popular/trustable shops/engines which sells PSUs: thanks.
Because:
Quote:
Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
It's a low-end power supply with low performance and low quality and doesn't have support for the new power states from Intel CPU's so don't expect much from it. It would be smart to buy something better.
Is that clear and understandable?

Summarizing that Chieftec is a crappy PSU, and albeit it's not a gutless wonder, you're strongly adviced to look to possible alternatives (which we cannot point you out without knowing what's locally available).
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2016
ridgid13579 ridgid13579 is offline
Jun Fu capacitor advocate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 734
Thanks: 25
Thanked 126 Times in 84 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
You already have it? Because this is some bad combination of components.
Uh dominator platinum and an a10....

Did op spend all his budget on ram? Upgrading to kaby lake would require new ram, mobo and CPU...


Going back on topic, save up for something better.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2016
Orion's Avatar
Orion Orion is offline
Tinfoil Hat User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 737
Thanks: 220
Thanked 532 Times in 239 Posts
Default

Yeah, no offence to the OP but this is one of the worst combination of components I've seen in a long time. Half the price of your processor comes from the integrated GPU, and you're not using it anyway since you have a dedicated one. And the CPU part itself is in turn so weak that you can only use about half the power of GTX 1060.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -