jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 12-07-2017
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,618
Thanks: 329
Thanked 1,303 Times in 852 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by totalz View Post
Why is it not meant for modern gaming?
Because it's based on an old platform, not meant for a modern PC.

Quote:
What about 1050Ti? That doesn't require extra power.
No, but it also doesn't require a 600W power supply. A GTX 1050 Ti takes less than 75W. If the other components aren't something special a 300W power supply is already more then you need.

Always choose quality over quantity. So don't go for a mediocre 600W if you can buy a good 300W power supply for the same money. If you have a PC that will only take 200W out of the power supply.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12-07-2017
totalz totalz is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: CAN
Posts: 7
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
Because it's based on an old platform, not meant for a modern PC.


No, but it also doesn't require a 600W power supply. A GTX 1050 Ti takes less than 75W. If the other components aren't something special a 300W power supply is already more then you need.

Always choose quality over quantity. So don't go for a mediocre 600W if you can buy a good 300W power supply for the same money. If you have a PC that will only take 200W out of the power supply.
It's been awhile since my last build, so I didn't know there's a new form factor!?

Here's my current PC spec: https://outervision.com/b/2yS11V
* haven't got a 1050Ti yet, but I do use 2 display cards

You are absolutely right about getting a good lower W PSU instead of a mediocre one, cause I was using an Antec HCG-900 for the rig, but then I did have a GTX270.

Do you have any recommendation for a PSU that run my old rig and also compatible for modern PC?

Last edited by totalz; 12-07-2017 at 08:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12-07-2017
Stefan Payne Stefan Payne is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,048
Thanks: 2
Thanked 280 Times in 233 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by totalz View Post
Why is it not meant for modern gaming?
Because +12V and +5V are regulated together -> Can be out of spec when one is loaded and the other is not.
So whatever happens on either of those rails also kinda happens on the other.
And with modern PCs you need +5V and +12V to be regulated independently from each other.

+3,3V is always independent from the others...

Quote:
Originally Posted by totalz View Post
Here's my current PC spec: https://outervision.com/b/2yS11V
* haven't got a 1050Ti yet, but I do use 2 display cards
[/quote]
Why do you trust those TDP/Worst case consumption adder at all?!
Because they don't calculate shit, they add TDP. And that's something everybody can do...
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12-08-2017
totalz totalz is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: CAN
Posts: 7
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
Because +12V and +5V are regulated together -> Can be out of spec when one is loaded and the other is not.
So whatever happens on either of those rails also kinda happens on the other.
And with modern PCs you need +5V and +12V to be regulated independently from each other.

+3,3V is always independent from the others...
This FSP PSU is ATX12V already, is there something newer? I'm not quite following on this "modern PC platform" regarding to the PSU form factor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
Why do you trust those TDP/Worst case consumption adder at all?!
Because they don't calculate shit, they add TDP. And that's something everybody can do...
TDP, thermal design power? I just use it as a basic guideline and it's easier for others to see my PC specs. Are their calculation wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12-08-2017
rafal_iB_PL rafal_iB_PL is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,654
Thanks: 102
Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
Default

TDP for Intel CPUs is just an information for producers of cooling solutions and is not directly related to power consumption of a chip. Two chips can have same TDP, but consume different amounts of power.

As for Hydro, it is not a very good unit at all, it is group regulated, so it doesn't support C6/C7 states, and voltages can go out of ATX spec under heavy unbalanced loads (and PC is not a balanced load as it's +12V heavy). There are usually better units in its price range.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -