jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-16-2016
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,615
Thanks: 329
Thanked 1,303 Times in 852 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orion View Post
Yes, right - meant to link this video: https://youtu.be/ojRFK1dEifg?t=90
Almost nothing to see there, really difficult to tell anything about the PSU.
Quote:
Do you mean the bridge rectifier or the whole image? The bridge is on the middle-left, right between the fan blades. If the whole image is not displaying for you, try the direct link: http://i.imgur.com/vVxbgXA.jpg?1
I mean which PSU is that? And where did you get the picture from?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
They're a pinch higher because it's easier to get those numbers with a 230VAC input. One of the most difficult or most expensive aspects of getting a PSU to pass higher efficiency levels is actually on the input side. More specifically, the primary switcher's losses. Simple little "tricks" like using a in-rush current relay for the power switch or the integrated transient filtering like the Delta AC input modules are just enough to go from one level of efficiency to another at lower input voltages. Higher input voltages is lower current and on a full range unit can make a HUGE difference in efficiency depending on the parts used.
Tell us something we don't know.

But that doesn't change anything about what we said before. I personally also don't care about the PSU only accepting 230V if that means I can be a bit cheaper and/or has a bit higher efficiency.

Even if it's only gonna be around the 1% most of the time*, not going to use 115V anyway.

*Roughly difference between standard 80PLUS Bronze PSU at 230V outlet and a 80PLUS Bronze 230V EU PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-16-2016
Orion's Avatar
Orion Orion is offline
Tinfoil Hat User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 850
Thanks: 268
Thanked 600 Times in 270 Posts
Default

That photo is FSP Hydro 230V Bronze, comes from here: http://www2.fsplifestyle.com/home/pr...Key=P163000553
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-16-2016
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,615
Thanks: 329
Thanked 1,303 Times in 852 Posts
Default

Didn't saw the Hydro 230V Bronze on FSP's site before, but yeah that looks bad.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-16-2016
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,528
Thanks: 451
Thanked 1,736 Times in 1,073 Posts
Default

Ah.. Sorry. I thought the PSU was full range. It's a bit misleading if you look quickly over the specs because they say:

Quote:
Wide input AC range from 160V to 280V
160V? Who uses that? So I suppose it is a 230VAC input only PSU.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-16-2016
Spectre Spectre is offline
Pinball Wizard
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Moderator
Posts: 4,100
Thanks: 15
Thanked 98 Times in 62 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
160V? Who uses that? So I suppose it is a 230VAC input only PSU.
The same people that use 90V.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Spectre For This Useful Post:
jonnyGURU (03-16-2016)
  #26  
Old 03-16-2016
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,528
Thanks: 451
Thanked 1,736 Times in 1,073 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectre View Post
The same people that use 90V.
Someone in Japan at the long end of an extension cord.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-16-2016
McSteel's Avatar
McSteel McSteel is offline
Naughty
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Serbia
Posts: 2,165
Thanks: 109
Thanked 398 Times in 275 Posts
Default

Guess they're trying to say it can ride a mild brownout.
__________________
Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-16-2016
Spectre Spectre is offline
Pinball Wizard
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Moderator
Posts: 4,100
Thanks: 15
Thanked 98 Times in 62 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteel View Post
Guess they're trying to say it can ride a mild brownout.
Their AC input range in general is greater than ATX specs require of 180-265V. They'd probably try to market it as "more robust" in various continental languages.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-17-2016
ridgid13579 ridgid13579 is offline
Jun Fu capacitor advocate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 776
Thanks: 26
Thanked 131 Times in 86 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
Someone in Japan at the long end of an extension cord.
A very long, thin extension cord.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-17-2016
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human ( by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
A very long, thin extension cord.
...under a mild brownout...
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -