jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2013
JST JST is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default My PSU is dead?

PSU: Silverstone 550W Strider Gold
Major components: 3570k stock, 290 unlocked to 290x stock,

Problem: Gradual degradation, no power.

Shortly after installing the 290, my rig started to require 2-3 resets before it would post and boot, but today it suddenly got worse. I reset several times, but it wouldn't post, then I had to leave it shut off for other stuff. Now, nothing happens when I push the power button, not a fan spin, absolutely nothing.

At first, I thought it was the 290 causing issues, but I tested with both the 290 and 290x bios', iGPU and even cleared cmos, but the same problem was always present.

Since there is absolutely no power coming to the rig, I guess the PSU is quite surely dead, is there an easy way to confirm this and what might be the cause?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2013
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,754
Thanks: 155
Thanked 229 Times in 163 Posts
Default

Does your motherboard have a +5VSB LED?

Did you use a paper clip to see if you could jump start the PSU?

Is probably the PSU, but could be the motherboard.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements aka Yellowbeard
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2013
JST JST is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

No LED, Mobo is P8Z77-I

Also, this was tested with 2 mobos using the same components, since I changed mobos in between today, B75M-ITX from AsRock and the pre-mentioned Asus.

Both had the post problem, but powering on died completely on the Asus.

Jump start worked, or atleast the PSU fan spun.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2013
JST JST is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

There is the SB_PWR LED though, and it always lit green.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2013
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,754
Thanks: 155
Thanked 229 Times in 163 Posts
Default

Well, if you used two different boards and had the problem with having to reset a couple times, sounds like you already determined your PSU is dying/dead.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements aka Yellowbeard
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2013
JST JST is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It was my first thought.

Like I previously mentioned, this problem started after I added the 290.

Then why did it die? This PSU should be able to handle a stock 3570k + 290(x)

Or maybe the cap on the other PCI-e power connector was there for a reason...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2013
allikat allikat is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England
Posts: 566
Thanks: 17
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JST View Post
It was my first thought.

Like I previously mentioned, this problem started after I added the 290.

Then why did it die? This PSU should be able to handle a stock 3570k + 290(x)

Or maybe the cap on the other PCI-e power connector was there for a reason...
Bad Units that sneak through quality control happen to every company. The cap on the PCI-E cable is to add extra smoothing to that connector, it is there for a reason.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k with an XSPC Raystorm water block, 4x4GB Corsair Dominator, SLi Evga-GTX560Ti-448 FTWs, Asrock Extreme4 Gen3, Crucial M4 256GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD, powered by a Silverstone Strider+ 850 PSU in a Silverstone TJ-07BW case.
I'm not buying EK GPU blocks ever again. (One GPU killed)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-2013
JST JST is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allikat View Post
Bad Units that sneak through quality control happen to every company. The cap on the PCI-E cable is to add extra smoothing to that connector, it is there for a reason.
They do...

Btw, I meant that the second PCI-e connector on the PSU itself was blocked off with a simple removable rubber cap.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-11-2013
mdk777 mdk777 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
Default

to keep dust out when you are not using it.
not an indication that you shouldn't.

EDIT: if you can change models with the RMA, I would step up the wattage. You were right that 550 should have been enough. However, if you are going to flash to 290x and OC, you could be using more than you think.

When they bin down to 290, it is often for a reason(not just to establish a different price point) one of the reasons can be excessive draw at full load.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-2013
JST JST is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdk777 View Post
to keep dust out when you are not using it.
not an indication that you shouldn't.
Well that's just silly, since it's the only connector with a cap on it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.