jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2013
Wallyhorse Wallyhorse is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ASRock 960GC-GS Motherboard (can you use DDR3 RAM with an AM2+ processor)?

Was curious about this:

I was looking to possibly buy an ASRock 960GC-GS motherboard that is compatible (and the only such board that is such) with AM2, AM2+, AM3 and AM3+ (FX) processors. I happen to have both DDR2 and DDR3 RAM I can use with this particular board (which has slots for both) as well as a an older Phenom X4 9650 (AM2+) processor. What I need to know is can you use DDR3 RAM with an AM2+ processor or would have I have to use DDR2 RAM with that.

Likewise, can you use DDR2 RAM with an AM3+ (FX) processor?

I looked for answers to this on the ASRock site and could not find any on that.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2013
c_hegge's Avatar
c_hegge c_hegge is offline
Hardware Insights Owner/Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 569
Thanks: 8
Thanked 60 Times in 43 Posts
Default

AM2 CPUs only have a DDR2 memory controller in them, and will not work with DDR3. I'm not sure about whether an FX CPU will work with DDR2 or not.
__________________
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2013
yojo2's Avatar
yojo2 yojo2 is offline
~y
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 447
Thanks: 35
Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts
Default

It won't, AM3+ CPUs don't have a DDR2 controller.

AM2/AM2+ CPUs: DDR2 only.
AM3 CPUs: DDR2/DDR3 (not simultaneously)
AM3+ CPUs: DDR3 only.
__________________
Xeon X3440 @3,1GHz + GTX660 + 2x2GB @1650MHz CL8 + Corsair TX650 (first rev)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.