jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  

Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General Hardware

General Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2013
Wallyhorse Wallyhorse is offline
micro ATX User
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ASRock 960GC-GS Motherboard (can you use DDR3 RAM with an AM2+ processor)?

Was curious about this:

I was looking to possibly buy an ASRock 960GC-GS motherboard that is compatible (and the only such board that is such) with AM2, AM2+, AM3 and AM3+ (FX) processors. I happen to have both DDR2 and DDR3 RAM I can use with this particular board (which has slots for both) as well as a an older Phenom X4 9650 (AM2+) processor. What I need to know is can you use DDR3 RAM with an AM2+ processor or would have I have to use DDR2 RAM with that.

Likewise, can you use DDR2 RAM with an AM3+ (FX) processor?

I looked for answers to this on the ASRock site and could not find any on that.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013
c_hegge's Avatar
c_hegge c_hegge is offline
Retired reviewer
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 700
Thanks: 15
Thanked 115 Times in 80 Posts

AM2 CPUs only have a DDR2 memory controller in them, and will not work with DDR3. I'm not sure about whether an FX CPU will work with DDR2 or not.
No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013
yojo2's Avatar
yojo2 yojo2 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 511
Thanks: 40
Thanked 58 Times in 50 Posts

It won't, AM3+ CPUs don't have a DDR2 controller.

AM2/AM2+ CPUs: DDR2 only.
AM3 CPUs: DDR2/DDR3 (not simultaneously)
AM3+ CPUs: DDR3 only.
Xeon X3440 @3,1GHz + GTX660 + 2x4GB @1650MHz CL9 + Corsair RM650
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.