jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General PC Hardware

General PC Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware. Includes UPS's and monitors.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2018
TR-909 TR-909 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Computer sometimes won't post (bad PSU?)

Hello all and merry Christmas.

I have a computer built back in 2011 which still does the job. My problem is that after I changed the gfx card (upgraded from a 1060 to a 1080Ti) the computer seldom won't POST (mobo leds /fans working, no beeps, just a black screen on monitor).

When I press reset everything comes back to normal and I could do gaming for hours no problem at all. I have done some Valley benchmarking loops for some hours to test the new card, everything went smooth.

This reminds me an issue I had with a HD7970 graphics card (died last summer) where the computer also occasionally wouldn't POST but in a more frequent manner - also had graphical glitches in games. Another thing is I have also OC/undervolt my CPU (an i7 2600K@4GHz, 1.232V) which runs stable for over a year now.

In general besides this 'one time, no POST' issue I have no other problems.

The PSU is a Corsair TX650. Should I look into the PSU or any other ideas crossing your mind?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2018
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 53
Thanked 102 Times in 93 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TR-909 View Post
Another thing is I have also OC/undervolt my CPU (an i7 2600K@4GHz, 1.232V) which runs stable for over a year now.
Run it standard and see if the problem is still present.

The whole idea of the safety margin that one uses to over-clock is to allow for things like diffusion aging of the semiconductor material.

Last edited by ashiekh; 12-24-2018 at 03:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2018
TR-909 TR-909 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello ashiekh and thanks for your reply.

I didn't have this issue until I upgraded the gfx card, meaning that with the same setup (OC/undervolt CPU) I didn't encounter this issue in the past - this runs for over a year now.

Still for the sake of testing I agree this is a good move to start troubleshooting. I will report again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2018
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 53
Thanked 102 Times in 93 Posts
Default

The over-clocking may have taken away the safety margin needed for the video card; that is the whole problem with over-clocking, one runs the machine right at the edge.

I always wonder why anyone would over-clock; the gains are not worth the trouble (in my opinion), if all it takes is a hot day to take things over the edge.

Last edited by ashiekh; 12-26-2018 at 04:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2018
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Missouri; USA
Posts: 4,983
Thanks: 401
Thanked 509 Times in 367 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
I always wonder why anyone would over-clock; the gains are not worth the trouble (in my opinion), if all it takes is a hot day to take things over the edge.

It's the pursuit of performance as well as maximizing the value of your system.



To be perfectly honest; Overclocking is basically essential to building a PC these days due to the performance that's locked away or segmented off by AMD, Nvidia, & Intel these days. Though, the big 3 are also taking a ton of "fun" or "challenge" out of overclocking as well.
__________________
Rig Specs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2018
TR-909 TR-909 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
The over-clocking may have taken away the safety margin needed for the video card; that is the whole problem with over-clocking, one runs the machine right at the edge.

I always wonder why anyone would over-clock; the gains are not worth the trouble (in my opinion), if all it takes is a hot day to take things over the edge.
Would make sense if I had set the voltage higher than the default but in my case I have undervolt; actually 0.1V below the default Vcore (using offset). Also the PSU in theory has more than enough power (54A on the 12V rail). That's why I couldn't think any other reason other than the PSU slowly dying.

I did the OC/undervolt to protect my CPU from overheating (I live in a country with warm climate). With undervolting the i7 2600k I am able to get 0.6GHz more than the stock clock while max temp is around 8 Celsius below than what it was before (full load).

After some more reading I disabled Fastboot in Windows 10. There were some signs like it was taking some time to display the log in prompt, or pressing keyboard buttons wouldn't take me to the log in prompt immediately etc. After doing this no more 'black screens, no POST' till now - I hope this was the issue.

Will monitor further and report back, thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2018
Batboy88 Batboy88 is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: OH
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

And despite People that look at Units for 20 years+ and a 40$ unit goes down and the bastard can't tell you what's wrong with it...when I immediately know....should be like Linus he does that shit...Con the industry lol
__________________
Ryzen 2600x 4.3 1.375v, Loop
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Evga SuperSC 3200mhz CL15
PNY NVME 480gb
Mushkin ECo3 480gb
WD Blue 1tb
Cooler Master GX II Pro 750w
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2018
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 53
Thanked 102 Times in 93 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TR-909 View Post
Would make sense if I had set the voltage higher than the default but in my case I have undervolt; actually 0.1V below the default Vcore (using offset).
How is this not going to reduce the safety margin?

People over-voltage to increase the safety margin, which they then use to over-clock further.

Last edited by ashiekh; 12-31-2018 at 04:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2019
TR-909 TR-909 is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
How is this not going to reduce the safety margin?

People over-voltage to increase the safety margin, which they then use to over-clock further.
But I didn't want to OC 'further', just 200Mhz more than the stock turbo freq.There are many people undervolting/overclocking, posting their settings and guides how to achieve this. This configuration was working fine for over a year so I don't think that 'safety margin' was ever the case in my scenario.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another 'what PSU do I need' post Reaps PC Power Supply Discussion 7 08-06-2008 06:34 AM
Post your computer pics! (56K/Dialup Warning - Large images) dBTelos Off Topic 10 10-15-2006 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -