jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General PC Hardware

General PC Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware. Includes UPS's and monitors.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2018
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 53
Thanked 102 Times in 93 Posts
Default Mismatched RAM

I have a computer that had mismatched RAM (sticks from different manufacturers) and while it passed all tests it would sometimes not come out of sleep. I am now trying matched RAM and so far the problem has not reoccured; it happened about once a month so I can't be sure it is cured.

Anyone else seen anything like this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2018
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 15,300
Thanks: 489
Thanked 1,995 Times in 1,236 Posts
Default

Can you manually set your memory timings to that of the lowest common denominator in the BIOS?
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2018
Stefan Payne Stefan Payne is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,322
Thanks: 5
Thanked 316 Times in 264 Posts
Default

Normally stuff like that means that one of the Sticks is bad.
And intermittand failures really suck. Wich means that maybe a bit or two are broken...

I've used "Mismatched" DIMMs a couple of times. Like 1 Stick Mushkin Essential and 1 Nanya DDR-3 SDRAM, all 1333. On X79 and it worked fine...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2018
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 53
Thanked 102 Times in 93 Posts
Default

My mix is DDR2 Micron and Nanya; I have moved them to another machine.

Last edited by ashiekh; 12-10-2018 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2018
cheapie's Avatar
cheapie cheapie is offline
That weird furry girl they warned you about
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Earth, I think
Posts: 338
Thanks: 28
Thanked 86 Times in 55 Posts
Default

I've never actually had any problems running mismatched RAM, though I never use sleep mode either...

Heck, once I even had a box running with 4 different sticks of DDR2 totaling 5.5GB (2 different 2GB, one 1GB, and one 512MB) and everything seemed to work fine. It even reported that it was running in "asymmetric dual channel" mode. That board did not allow me to view or set memory timings, but I suspect it was probably just running at the speed of the 512MB stick, which was the slowest one.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cheapie For This Useful Post:
GDILord (12-12-2018)
  #6  
Old 12-11-2018
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 53
Thanked 102 Times in 93 Posts
Default

Thanks to all for the help, the Internet has totally changed how things are done; often for the better.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2018
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 1,431
Thanks: 53
Thanked 102 Times in 93 Posts
Default

The problem returned, so it has nothing to do with mismatched RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -