jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2017
sblantipodi sblantipodi is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: localhost and Italy
Posts: 307
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default APC BackUPS Pro. Upgrading my UPS or not. This is the problem.

Hi all,
I'm just planning to upgrade my GTX980 Ti SLI to a GTX1080 Ti SLI, I say this because those newer cards will eat approximately 60W more than the previous one.

At the moment the maximum load on my PSU (AX860i series, waiting for upgrading it) with both cards maxed out and CPU maxed out is of 700W.
Consider a 10% efficiency, the monitor and the NAS and it's easy that my UPS is loaded with 810W.

The UPS is question is an APC BackUPS Pro BR1500GI 865W/1500VA with a fresh new genuine battery.



I have done some testing and differently from what APC says, this UPS is not able to handle a blackout if the load of my peripherals is greater than 800W.
At 800W or less it always handle a blackout for some minutes, at 810W it never handle the blackout, the PC is shutted down immediately.

I bought the UPS to save my work in case of AC problems, fortunantly the UPS is able to handle the load of my PC at work since while working I never go over 800W.

But what happen if there is a blackout while gaming and pushing hard up to 810W?
The PC shutdown (and no one will cry since I was only gaming) but what about PC components?

Can UPS damage the PSU or other components since it isn't able to handle the blackout?

I'm in doubt if upgrade my UPS or not...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,892
Thanks: 475
Thanked 1,870 Times in 1,154 Posts
Default

All your parts die. Just like that.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2017
sblantipodi sblantipodi is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: localhost and Italy
Posts: 307
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
All your parts die. Just like that.
don't get it, probably a language barrier, sorry.
what do you mean for die? shut down or be damaged?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,892
Thanks: 475
Thanked 1,870 Times in 1,154 Posts
Default

Actually... I'm just kidding. With a good PSU, your parts are fine. Simply cutting power to your parts means nothing to your parts. As far as they're concerned, you just turned the PC off. They just stop working. It's just your data that gets corrupted because it's not properly written to memory.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2017
sblantipodi sblantipodi is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: localhost and Italy
Posts: 307
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
Actually... I'm just kidding. With a good PSU, your parts are fine. Simply cutting power to your parts means nothing to your parts. As far as they're concerned, you just turned the PC off. They just stop working. It's just your data that gets corrupted because it's not properly written to memory.
ah ok
my important data is on a NAS and are not written while gaming, so I'm ok.
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2017
ridgid13579 ridgid13579 is offline
Jun Fu capacitor advocate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 778
Thanks: 26
Thanked 132 Times in 87 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sblantipodi View Post
ah ok
my important data is on a NAS and are not written while gaming, so I'm ok.
thanks
That's like the second worst way of backing up "Important data". A NAS without any external redundancy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2017
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human ( by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
A NAS without any external redundancy.
A NAS backed up by another NAS? Jeez...
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2017
sblantipodi sblantipodi is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: localhost and Italy
Posts: 307
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
That's like the second worst way of backing up "Important data". A NAS without any external redundancy.
NAS has Raid 1 redudancy, I don't need more secure
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-18-2017
ridgid13579 ridgid13579 is offline
Jun Fu capacitor advocate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 778
Thanks: 26
Thanked 132 Times in 87 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
A NAS backed up by another NAS? Jeez...
You should research and see how big corporations backup data. It's obviously excessive for a single person, but you can take some steps from them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sblantipodi View Post
NAS has Raid 1 redudancy, I don't need more secure
Raid is not backup. It's redundancy. What happens if you have a fire? What happens if the raid controller goes? What happens if you accidently delete a file? Raid only protects against one thing.

Cheap and easy way to backup, encrypt your data and upload it to the cloud (Google drive, backblaze, ACS, etc etc).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-18-2017
ehume's Avatar
ehume ehume is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,159
Thanks: 819
Thanked 100 Times in 87 Posts
Default

I pay $60 for off-site backup. Why? I have a lot of photographs, a lot of RAW. I got pushed into this by reading about ransomeware. I'm not the only person using my homenet and ransomeware can pop up anywhere. Anything connected can be encrypted, including NAS. This is why I consider $60/year to be a good investment. YMMV.
__________________
open air testing rig in basement:
Core i7 8700k 5GHz Vcore = 1.37v, HT enabled; Gigabyte Z370X Aorus Gaming 7
2x8GB Corsair DPX DDR4 RAM 16-18-18-36@3200MHz Vdimm 1.35v
Intel 4600 graphics using 1GB system memory; Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
various heatsinks (depends on what I am testing ATM); PSU: Seasonic X-460FL (fanless)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -