jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2012
Madoga Madoga is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How hopeless is this psu (HKC SZ-400R)

A friend of mine bought the following psu (HKC SZ-400R):




In a Dutch forum they told him its crap and he should get a proper one. So now hes wondering if its safe to use this for the upcoming month and get a new one at that time. Or will it damage his computer in that short timespan?

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2012
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 15,162
Thanks: 485
Thanked 1,948 Times in 1,208 Posts
Default

It's actually not a horrible unit. Inefficient topology, yes. But I'm sure it can actually put out 400W continuous.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2012
Hondacity Hondacity is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,090
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

looks ok
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2012
Madoga Madoga is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

isn't the 15a on the +12v rail a bit low for a 400W psu?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2012
Hondacity Hondacity is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,090
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

it says 15A
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2012
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 15,162
Thanks: 485
Thanked 1,948 Times in 1,208 Posts
Default

Cant tell that it says 15A on the +12V from your crappy pics. If that's the case, that's only 180W. Therefore, this PSU is very old school. Equivalent to a 250W today. What is it powering?
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2012
Phaedrus2129's Avatar
Phaedrus2129 Phaedrus2129 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,038
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I think Jonny needs glasses, I can tell it says 15A.

Very oldskool.
__________________
It's my PSU in a box!
Ooo-ooh,
My PSU in a box, baby!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-26-2012
370forlife's Avatar
370forlife 370forlife is offline
Freedom! Horrible, horrible freedom!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 1,072
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I wouldn't trust it for too long. I don't think it'll do 400W continuously. Not with that small primary transformer and little output caps. I would venture to say it can maybe do 250W decently. I've blown up much better built units at lower than 400W loads.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFK
The American, by nature, is optimistic. He is experimental, an inventor and a builder who builds best when called upon to build greatly
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-26-2012
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 15,162
Thanks: 485
Thanked 1,948 Times in 1,208 Posts
Default

Crappy laptop monitor.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-26-2012
MrWicked1968's Avatar
MrWicked1968 MrWicked1968 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 1,590
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

doesn't have any SATA connectors
__________________
Rig 1: Phenom II X2 550-Asus M5A78L-MLX--2x4 Patriot DDR3 1333--Asus Formula HD4770--Enermax Triathlor 450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 10 x64
Rig 2: Core i3 6300--Asrock Z170M Extreme4--2x8 Adata DDR4 2400--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair CX500M--Corsair Hydro H55--Windows 7 x64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -