jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > General Electronics > Electronic Component Discussion

Electronic Component Discussion Discussion of anything pertaining to electronics and the components that make them work

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-22-2017
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human ( by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Ok, an update: for a different recap work I need some 22,000uF/80V snap-in radial 2 leads.

Set aside the lower capacity, since I took some of these CDE 5 pins, may I use them instead of looking for the rare 2 leads variant?
In case, should I bridge the pins in pairs, or may I just cut the unused ones?
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-22-2017
ridgid13579 ridgid13579 is offline
Jun Fu capacitor advocate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 778
Thanks: 26
Thanked 132 Times in 87 Posts
Default

Depends. Look at the cap datasheet and make sure those pins are the same (not input + and output +).

Then test it first, but I'd keep all pins for strength. Make a breakout PCB if you'd like....

Is the diameter the same?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-22-2017
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human ( by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
Depends. Look at the cap datasheet and make sure those pins are the same (not input + and output +).
Well, this is the datasheet, I think they're the same, aren't they?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
Then test it first, but I'd keep all pins for strength. Make a breakout PCB if you'd like....
It would likely be too tall with a separate PCB: I was thinking to either cut the unused pins or isolate them with some material (any special hint about that?).
Alternatively I might try to bridge the pins in pairs using some AWG16 wire.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
Is the diameter the same?
Yes, it's the same 50mm can.
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-22-2017
ridgid13579 ridgid13579 is offline
Jun Fu capacitor advocate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 778
Thanks: 26
Thanked 132 Times in 87 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
It would likely be too tall with a separate PCB: I was thinking to either cut the unused pins or isolate them with some material (any special hint about that?).
Alternatively I might try to bridge the pins in pairs using some AWG16 wire.
How much height space do you have roughly? A pic would be nice It'll probably not preform as well as a 2 lead radical cap, but isolating pins.... kapton/polyimide tape maybe? How are you going to mount it?? Upside down?

I'd prefer a breakout board, obviously if you had space...

Last edited by ridgid13579; 03-22-2017 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-22-2017
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human ( by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
How much height space do you have roughly?
About 90mm, 95mm at most.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
A pic would be nice
I will take a shot tomorrow.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
It'll probably not preform as well as a 2 lead radical cap
Interesting. Why they should not perform the same?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
but isolating pins.... kapton/polyimide tape maybe?
No idea right now: as a matter of fact I might end up looking for those rare two leads snap ins, as I don't like that much doing ghetto mods.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
How are you going to mount it?? Upside down?
Well, actually I was thinking to mount them canonically: these CDE, where are they vented?
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-22-2017
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human ( by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
these CDE, where are they vented?
Ok, checked, side or bottom (but I don't see anything actually in both places).
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-22-2017
ridgid13579 ridgid13579 is offline
Jun Fu capacitor advocate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 778
Thanks: 26
Thanked 132 Times in 87 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
About 90mm, 95mm at most.

Interesting. Why they should not perform the same?
Should have enough space for a breakout. You could probably make one out of two pcbs and a standoff...

Just saying that, usually you wanna have a trace as short as possible... But performance should be pretty close..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
18000uf, 63v, capacitors, electrolityc, nichicon

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -