jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > CPU Discussion

CPU Discussion Discuss processors here: Past, present and future! No AMD v. Intel flames, please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2007
CAD4466HK's Avatar
CAD4466HK CAD4466HK is offline
Better you then me
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Deland,Florida
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default The last AM2 X2 is here

I agree, what kind of moron would "not" go with a C2D E6700 at that price,
and still have enough left over to buy a nice PSU

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=5883
__________________
MSI P67A-GD65
i72600K@4.8
Corsair H70
4x4Gb GSkill Ripjaws 16Gb 1600
MSI 670 GTX PE/OC
2x750Gb Seagate Barracuda's RAID 0
Zalman ZM-MFC1
Lite-On Dvd burner
SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Silverstone Zeus ST85ZF
Coolermaster HAF-932
"Experience is the benchmark of maturity"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2007
flclisgreat flclisgreat is offline
custom titles are for losers
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i am more interested in the x2 3600+
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2007
DvBoard DvBoard is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

90nm still? WTF!
__________________
YOU KEPT ME CLOSER TO GOD.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2007
Kab Kab is offline
Retired from Boards
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Roll around the world
Posts: 697
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Na, no point. Thats just foolish. The 4200 to 4800 can be overclocked to 3.3Ghz pretty easily under air and its good enough for all the regular needs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2007
uOpt's Avatar
uOpt uOpt is offline
500W User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Give it to me for 939 and we can talk.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2007
KorruptioN's Avatar
KorruptioN KorruptioN is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 192
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm still looking for a 939 X2 for a good price.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2007
Kab Kab is offline
Retired from Boards
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Roll around the world
Posts: 697
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KorruptioN View Post
I'm still looking for a 939 X2 for a good price.
Any hints on the range?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2007
flclisgreat flclisgreat is offline
custom titles are for losers
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uOpt View Post
Give it to me for 939 and we can talk.

you think there going to redesign it to use ddr instead of ddr2, just to let 939 user's upgrade? LOL, thats funny. they have declared 939 dead and are moving on. why don't you catch up with the times?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2007
SuperSix's Avatar
SuperSix SuperSix is offline
Dumb Ass White Boy
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Your Mom's bed
Posts: 295
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KorruptioN View Post
I'm still looking for a 939 X2 for a good price.
If you really want one - bite the bullet now, they will only go up in price.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2007
madmat's Avatar
madmat madmat is offline
Just kidding, not banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In yer 'fridge, eatin' yer pizza
Posts: 1,785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flclisgreat View Post
you think there going to redesign it to use ddr instead of ddr2, just to let 939 user's upgrade? LOL, thats funny. they have declared 939 dead and are moving on. why don't you catch up with the times?
DDR2 memory controllers are backward compatible with DDR. The ONLY reason AMD switched sockets rather than introduce 939 DDR2 chips was that people would've ended up buying DDR2 939 boards and older DDR only 939 procs without DDR2 compatible memory controllers (remember, the memory controller is not on the chipset on A64's) and not have been able to get their PC's to operate or worse still hosed everything for their troubles.

The only reason for AMD to not offer AM2 chips on DDR would be that they'd be sabotaging their AM2 socket because the 939 owners wouldn't want to do anything other than upgrade procs. That and it's most likely that we'd end up seeing that the new chips perform better with cheaper DDR at lower latencies than with DDR2 at higher cost and latencies which again would shoot AMD in the foot...not to mention their chipset partners.
__________________
Sign Me!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -