jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Software > General Software

General Software Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2007
Mad Machinist's Avatar
Mad Machinist Mad Machinist is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Macon Georgia
Posts: 170
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default XP control panel woes

Got a new one here......Amd 64 Gateway had bloatware and Media center edition......formatted the hard drive a couple of months ago and did a clean install of XP Pro and all functioned flawlessly........owner called me last week because it was "going insane"...lots of horizontal lines after she turned it on.

Got it to my bench...turns out the northbridge heatsink had fallen off......soldered a new loop on for it to clip to and viola....all is well...comp runs cool and stable. EXCEPT.....

I tried to going into internet options to change the home page as requested but it won't open.......in fact none of the control functions (classic control panel in xp, icons like system, Internet options, sound, display) will allow me acess...I get an error message

"Windows cannot find 'C:\WINDOWS\System32\rundl32.exe.' Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again. To Search for a file , Click the Start button, and then click Search."

Any suggestions on a simple fix?????? I'd really rather not do a format and install as that will result in hours stuck at the owners house reinstalling her palm and printer and fax and scanned and answering hours of basic computer operation questions.....Hellllllllp..... ....
__________________
R. N. Koester
CEO/Founder Macon Armory Inc. and Grumpy Old Soldier
Don't mess with old farts, for age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2007
Mad Machinist's Avatar
Mad Machinist Mad Machinist is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Macon Georgia
Posts: 170
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No Ideas????

Ok....try from another angle.....can you load XP pro over the top without messing up everything like you used to be able to do with Win98?
__________________
R. N. Koester
CEO/Founder Macon Armory Inc. and Grumpy Old Soldier
Don't mess with old farts, for age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2007
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar
Oklahoma Wolf Oklahoma Wolf is offline
Bake him away, toys.
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Moderator
Posts: 6,447
Thanks: 124
Thanked 1,231 Times in 348 Posts
Default

You could do a repair install.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2007
burebista's Avatar
burebista burebista is offline
Manic Miner
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Romania
Posts: 1,105
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Put XP CD in optical unit.
Start->Run->cmd <Enter>
Type: expand <CD-ROM>:\i386\rundll32.ex_ %windir%\system32\rundll32.exe (<CD-ROM:> is letter of your optical unit)
Reboot.
Good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2007
mpilchfamily's Avatar
mpilchfamily mpilchfamily is offline
Modding is Life
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

May want to do a full repair install. Just in case that isn't the only missing or curropt file on the drive. The overheating chip set might have corrupted parts of the drive.
__________________
SYSTEM:
| Opti 165 @ 2.9Ghz 322 FSB 9X Multi. 1292 HTT | DFI Infinity NF4 SLI | 7900GS @ 580/690 |
| 2 x 1Gb Muskin DDR500 @ 512Mhz 3-3-2-7 | Corsair VX550W |
COOLING:
| CM Eclipse | VF-900 | Antec 900 |

XATE-984 Load Tester Build
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2007
mp666 mp666 is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: İstanbul, Turkey
Posts: 391
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

One of the symptoms of infected computers. Make sure it's clean. Run AV/AS/AT etc. If it's clean run SFC. Also backup and run an offline checkdisk.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2008
IAmATeaf IAmATeaf is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is this file even there? Would be surprised if it wasn't as a lot apps/drivers use it to run, if it's not there then copy it off the CD as suggested above or do a repair to get it back.

EDIT: The clip falling off was a problem with the Abit mobos of old, first thing I used to do was resolder the U clips using some good quality silver solder.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-12-2008
PedroDaGr8 PedroDaGr8 is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mp666 View Post
One of the symptoms of infected computers. Make sure it's clean. Run AV/AS/AT etc. If it's clean run SFC. Also backup and run an offline checkdisk.

Good luck.
This is true, newer infection love to lockout IE homepage section, control panel, and even occasionally run and the ability to change the desktop or access the system section.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU/ Video Card woes LostInRehab PC Power Supply Discussion 39 07-25-2008 07:59 PM
front panel fan generates warm air? lin General PC Hardware 9 01-18-2008 11:53 AM
Samsung 204B 'S Panel' LCD Monitor 20" of 1600 x 1200 PIXELS!!! (MAXIMUM VIEWING!) dr4gon For Sale/Trade 4 10-22-2007 05:03 PM
Ultra brand PSU. Medicore quality control Kvar Off Topic 49 07-26-2007 02:31 PM
My upgrade woes CAD4466HK CPU Discussion 14 12-05-2006 07:08 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -