jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Missouri; USA
Posts: 4,815
Thanks: 370
Thanked 469 Times in 332 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
I thinketh not
Windows 10 can use more power than Windows 7 on identical hardware but it will also use less power in general. Windows10 has a broader range more or less, as the OS can shut more things down while still being functional to save on power usage but in high performance mode it will have more services running than Windows 7 did, and thus use more power.



In a desktop environment it's pretty much negligible though. More of a concern for something like a tablet or laptop.
__________________
Rig Specs
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
strumf666 strumf666 is offline
500W User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 64
Thanks: 6
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Max and min power draw should be hw imposed unless there are compatibility issues. Power management on other hand can be very much OS dependent, but this generally isn't too much of a concern in a desktop computer at least compared to mobile devices.
__________________
r7 1700x @3,975
16gb ddr4 3200
asus prime x370 pro
vega 64
512gb samsung 850 pro
Corsair RM1000i
EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Missouri; USA
Posts: 4,815
Thanks: 370
Thanked 469 Times in 332 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strumf666 View Post
Max and min power draw should be hw imposed unless there are compatibility issues. Power management on other hand can be very much OS dependent, but this generally isn't too much of a concern in a desktop computer at least compared to mobile devices.
The point was that Windows 10 has more background tasks and in high performance mode will use more of your available resources to keep the OS snappy.
__________________
Rig Specs
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction
Posts: 852
Thanks: 6
Thanked 53 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Ah, how does one turn on high performance mode?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Tator Tot's Avatar
Tator Tot Tator Tot is offline
Danke schön
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Missouri; USA
Posts: 4,815
Thanks: 370
Thanked 469 Times in 332 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashiekh View Post
Ah, how does one turn on high performance mode?
If it's a laptop, right click the battery icon in your system tray and then click "Power Options." Change the power plan to "High Performance."


On some laptops you need to click the drop down for "Show Additional Plans" as they sometimes only give you "Balanced" and "Power Saver" available.



If it's a desktop just go to Control Panel > Hardware And Sound > Power Options and then it's the same as above.



A big difference between "Balanced" and "High Performance" on my system is CPU utilization stays low but my CPU sits closer to it's default clocks while just web browsing. Normally floating between 3.2Ghz & 3.4Ghz, with power saving settings left on in the BIOS. My chip will go up to 4.5Ghz while in game. If I run in the balanced preset then my chip will sit around the 2.3-2.5Ghz mark on general web browsing.



The main reason for my use of the "High Performance" preset is the snappier response I get when opening new applications or quickly switching between browser windows. Especially if I'm taking a window in or out of a full screen focus.
__________________
Rig Specs
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction
Posts: 852
Thanks: 6
Thanked 53 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Ah! found it, it was hidden under 'Show additional plans'
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
strumf666 strumf666 is offline
500W User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 64
Thanks: 6
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
The point was that Windows 10 has more background tasks and in high performance mode will use more of your available resources to keep the OS snappy.
Point taken, but for choosing the right PSU that isn't as relevant as hw imposed power draw I believe.
__________________
r7 1700x @3,975
16gb ddr4 3200
asus prime x370 pro
vega 64
512gb samsung 850 pro
Corsair RM1000i
EKWB watercooling (cpu+gpu)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
COFASA COFASA is offline
500W User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Mexico
Posts: 83
Thanks: 13
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedNinja View Post
Oh i ordered the tx650m it was the same price as the 550, and well wiggle room cant hurt right? I may just get one piece at a time and build a dream rig, at least ill have the power for it
a higher wattage power supply might be a little less efficient due to how they work. They hit peak efficiency at around 50% depending on the model and they are very inefficient under 20% so to a certain point the higher wattage you buy the more often your PC power draw be under that 20% and the more inefficient it will be.

But minor things if it costs the same why not? My only concern is that it is usually better to go higher quality and low wattage. RM550x or seasonic prime 550 for example
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
ashiekh's Avatar
ashiekh ashiekh is offline
20W User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Grand Junction
Posts: 852
Thanks: 6
Thanked 53 Times in 50 Posts
Default

A quality power supply can deliver its maximum power continuously without breaking a sweat; not sure the same can be said for a cheaper unit.

Last edited by ashiekh; 3 Weeks Ago at 03:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Stefan Payne Stefan Payne is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,080
Thanks: 2
Thanked 284 Times in 237 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedNinja View Post
Another thing this will be windows 10 much as i hate it, I always had 7 or xp before, but someone told me win 10 uses much more power than win 7...was this guy bullshitting me lol
Windows 10 (actually 8.1) handles power saving things different than Windows 7.
That was an issue especially on older Hardware wich resulted in higher power consumption.

Older in like Core 2 Duo Laptops and similar with not good implemented ACPI things because Windows would have handled it anyway, while Win10 allows the Hardware to handle it a bit more.
Thus higher power consumption there.


But in General, I wouldn't worry too much about it with modern Hardware that is made for Windows 10.
And just install and use it.

This is written on an old Dell Vostro 1500 Laptop with Core 2 Duo and, more or less luckily an external graphics chip...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -