jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General PC Hardware

General PC Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware. Includes UPS's and monitors.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-10-2015
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 15,300
Thanks: 489
Thanked 1,995 Times in 1,236 Posts
Default

Are you using a Corsair Void headset?
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-2015
cruzinforit's Avatar
cruzinforit cruzinforit is offline
Yuricon
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 72
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 11 Posts
Default

I am not. I also removed all USB devices and attempted again, and the result was the same as before.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
ASRock X370 Gaming K4
16GB G Skill FlareX @2933Mhz
Powercolor Red Dragon RX Vega56
1x Samsung 850EVO 500GB, 1x SKHynix SC300 500GB
1x 1TB WD Black, 1x2TB Seagate Barracuda
EVGA SuperNova 550G3
Fractal Design Define S
LG 24UD58-B, Dell U2415H, Dell S2415H
Corsair K70, Logitech G502
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-11-2015
quest for silence's Avatar
quest for silence quest for silence is offline
Silencer & heathen relic of a human (™ by OW)
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 1,037
Thanked 486 Times in 421 Posts
Default

Is there any jumper on the mobo about USB supply (as it happened in the past)?
__________________
Best, Luca
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-11-2015
Carambola Carambola is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 36
Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Default

As for the startup after shutdown, do you have fast startup enabled (type powercfg -a in CMD)? Or perhaps your powerbutton is stuck after pressing it?

Edit: You tried the command powercfg /lastwake, but have you tried powercfg /waketimers aswell? /waketimers sometimes displays which service may have a timer running.

Last edited by Carambola; 12-11-2015 at 09:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-11-2015
Behemot Behemot is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 50°4'53.169"N, 14°23'30.699"E
Posts: 1,578
Thanks: 90
Thanked 249 Times in 183 Posts
Default

I have thee feeling he said the timers are turned off in the OP?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-11-2015
Carambola Carambola is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 36
Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Updates in Windows 10 has been messing with certain operating system flags on other people's systems aswell, so it's a possibility. And since CMD showed REASON: Unknown, it might be usefull to try powercfg /waketimers to actually see which service is the culprit (if it is a service that's being the culprit).
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-11-2015
Behemot Behemot is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 50°4'53.169"N, 14°23'30.699"E
Posts: 1,578
Thanks: 90
Thanked 249 Times in 183 Posts
Default

Another reason to stick with 7, thank you very much…
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-11-2015
cruzinforit's Avatar
cruzinforit cruzinforit is offline
Yuricon
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 72
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
Another reason to stick with 7, thank you very much…
I did check waketimers, there are none set. I went into power settings and disabled wake timers there as well. I also did disable fast boot to see if that would help. Unfortunately, it does not appear to have.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
ASRock X370 Gaming K4
16GB G Skill FlareX @2933Mhz
Powercolor Red Dragon RX Vega56
1x Samsung 850EVO 500GB, 1x SKHynix SC300 500GB
1x 1TB WD Black, 1x2TB Seagate Barracuda
EVGA SuperNova 550G3
Fractal Design Define S
LG 24UD58-B, Dell U2415H, Dell S2415H
Corsair K70, Logitech G502
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-12-2015
cruzinforit's Avatar
cruzinforit cruzinforit is offline
Yuricon
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 72
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Problem being the motherboard confirmed as hell. I'm angry now. I haven't bought MSI in over a decade because of problems I had with one of their Socket A boards. I decided to give them another shot. I didn't get upset when the first one had PCIe corruption. Happens to the best of them, I thought. Got a brand new replacement from MSI.

Second one working great, or so I thought. And then this fucking saga happened with the power. I troubleshoot and troubleshoot, and guess what? Now it won't power on at all. I had it open and was testing it. I turn it off, flip the switch on the back of the power supply to keep it off. Turn it back on again, and a second later a loud pop from the speakers (This motherboard model generates brief static on power on from the power amp in the soundcard). And then nothing. I press the power button. Nothing happens. The standby LED and NIC LED are on normally. I try again. Nothing. I try another known good power supply. Standby LED and NIC LED on, nothing happens. I try manually shorting the motherboard pins with a screwdriver. Nothing.

Are you kidding me MSI? TWO IN A ROW? And this isn't a refurb either. this replacement is a brand new, retail packaged motherboard. The best part is MSIs technical support/RMA support isn't open on weekends. I have to wait until Monday to call, and they better cross ship this time, because I'm not waiting 3 weeks for the replacement like I did last time.

Seriously MSI, how hard can it be?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.8Ghz
ASRock X370 Gaming K4
16GB G Skill FlareX @2933Mhz
Powercolor Red Dragon RX Vega56
1x Samsung 850EVO 500GB, 1x SKHynix SC300 500GB
1x 1TB WD Black, 1x2TB Seagate Barracuda
EVGA SuperNova 550G3
Fractal Design Define S
LG 24UD58-B, Dell U2415H, Dell S2415H
Corsair K70, Logitech G502
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enermax PSU with ticking noise for a few seconds after power off chdbpjp PC Power Supply Discussion 1 02-17-2018 01:48 PM
OMG WTF..... Well hopefully its back to stay. Tazz Site Suggestions & Forum Issues 6 08-17-2010 01:42 AM
Hey baby! Wake up from your asleep! Oklahoma Wolf Off Topic 0 09-18-2008 09:55 PM
60 seconds between reporting posts? WTF? madmat Site Suggestions & Forum Issues 3 05-14-2008 10:21 AM
How does Best Buy stay in business? jonnyGURU Off Topic 28 01-23-2008 09:10 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -