jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-08-2017
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,565
Thanks: 328
Thanked 1,275 Times in 836 Posts
Default

There isn't a working PSU calculator. But a high quality 400W is already enough. Peak gaming power consumption with a stock GTX 980 Ti is around 300W DC, with a overclocked model it could be around 350W DC. But the SF450 is enough with every GTX 980 Ti out there as long as you don't use some extreme overclocks.

And yes it's that quiet and that good.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ly,4512-4.html

Every other SFX PSU is just the wrong choice.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-08-2017
Pat-Roner's Avatar
Pat-Roner Pat-Roner is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
There isn't a working PSU calculator. But a high quality 400W is already enough. Peak gaming power consumption with a stock GTX 980 Ti is around 300W DC, with a overclocked model it could be around 350W DC. But the SF450 is enough with every GTX 980 Ti out there as long as you don't use some extreme overclocks.

And yes it's that quiet and that good.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ly,4512-4.html

Every other SFX PSU is just the wrong choice.
According to Techpowerup's review of my card, the card (not system) draws 309w at maximum (with a slightly less oc than mine).

So 350w for gpu and 65w for i7 6700 (non k)=415w. I can't imagine that 6 noctua fans and one SSD will use more than 35w. Suppose it also can handle more than 450w peak regardless?

Btw:

Last edited by Pat-Roner; 02-08-2017 at 08:17 AM. Reason: Added pic
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-08-2017
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,565
Thanks: 328
Thanked 1,275 Times in 836 Posts
Default

Yes it's time for a better FAQ or an explanation how people can calculated it them self.
Which GTX 980 Ti do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-08-2017
Pat-Roner's Avatar
Pat-Roner Pat-Roner is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
Yes it's time for a better FAQ or an explanation how people can calculated it them self.
Which GTX 980 Ti do you have?
The Extreme Gaming from Giabyte running @ 1430mhz core
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-08-2017
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,565
Thanks: 328
Thanked 1,275 Times in 836 Posts
Default

As you can see the power consumption is only that high with Furmark, with games or other 3D loads it will be around 250W peak and 225W average. That means that the power consumption will be around 300W DC average when gaming and probably around 350W peak with gaming, 3D Mark, Heaven or other benchmark except Furmark. Only with Furmark and Linpack you can get around 400W DC. If you don't believe me, measure it, but don't forget you're gonna measure AC and not DC.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-08-2017
Pat-Roner's Avatar
Pat-Roner Pat-Roner is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
As you can see the power consumption is only that high with Furmark, with games or other 3D loads it will be around 250W peak and 225W average. That means that the power consumption will be around 300W DC average when gaming and probably around 350W peak with gaming, 3D Mark, Heaven or other benchmark except Furmark. Only with Furmark and Linpack you can get around 400W DC. If you don't believe me, measure it, but don't forget you're gonna measure AC and not DC.
Cool, thanks alot! I knew this was the right place to ask questions like these.
Actually think I'm going to get a plug to measure - just out of curiosity.

I just then have to deduct the efficiency to get the rough measurement?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-08-2017
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,565
Thanks: 328
Thanked 1,275 Times in 836 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat-Roner View Post
Cool, thanks alot! I knew this was the right place to
I just then have to deduct the efficiency to get the rough measurement?
When you measure the power consumption with a AC meter it measure the AC power consumption. If you want to know how many watts your pulling out of the PSU multiply the number by the efficiency.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ly,4512-4.html

So when you read 300W AC then you multiply by 0,9 which gives you around 270W DC. If you read 55W then you multiply by 0,8 because the lower efficiency which is measured by Tomshardware.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-08-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,449
Thanks: 450
Thanked 1,688 Times in 1,050 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quest for silence View Post
There's a chance you don't recall quite right....
Wouldn't be the first time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
Yes it's time for a better FAQ or an explanation how people can calculated it them self.
Yeah... That FAQ is actually 10 years old now.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-02-2017
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is offline
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,565
Thanks: 328
Thanked 1,275 Times in 836 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat-Roner View Post
Yeah, I think it's to noisy (pc is on desk 80cm from me), but I'm thinking of replacing the 92mm fan with a noctua or bequiet one. It would of course be mounted on the outside, since theres no room inside for a 25mm thick fan, but that shouldn't be a problem i think.

And i would probably loose the warranty, but it has a 7 year warranty and I'm not sure how better cooling can be bad for the unit. Or am I terribly mistaken?
What's the noise you hear? Is it bearing noise or just a fast spinning fan? Replacing the fan doesn't seem like a good idea. You probably only gonna make the PSU overhead, because there isn't enough airflow.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-02-2017
Pat-Roner's Avatar
Pat-Roner Pat-Roner is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -The_Mask- View Post
What's the noise you hear? Is it bearing noise or just a fast spinning fan? Replacing the fan doesn't seem like a good idea. You probably only gonna make the PSU overhead, because there isn't enough airflow.
No bearing noise, just fan noise. But I would think that a fullsize 92mm fan would have higher CFM than a slim one, not?
According to this test the SF600 fan is around 2000rpm on 500w load (which is lower than my 450 max)

Heres some stats on Noctua's 92mm fans;


So If we take the NF-A9x14 as an example for a slim fan; @2200rpm it has a CFM of 50,5. And Noctua being Noctua, i think we can safely assume that that is as high CFM you can get it on a slim 92mm fan at 2000rpm (IDcooling also has a 92mm slim fan with 44,3CFM@2500rpm and that's more similar to the corsair fan in regards to blade design),

And If I where to get the NF-A9 FLX (due to 3 pin) and that has a great increase in amount of airflow, despite spinning slower. I don't know the starting voltage for it, but according to this, the fan controller ramps up the voltage as needed, so it would start when needed regardless.

I'm also thinking of getting the new corsair commander pro and control the PSU fan with one of the thermal-resistors, but I would think that it would be sufficient with the internal controller.
__________________
Computers are ment to be seen, not heard

Last edited by Pat-Roner; 06-02-2017 at 05:00 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compatability, pinout, sfx, silverstone

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -