jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > CPU Discussion

CPU Discussion Discuss processors here: Past, present and future! No AMD v. Intel flames, please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-26-2011
Original Sin's Avatar
Original Sin Original Sin is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: in your bathroom
Posts: 1,501
Thanks: 68
Thanked 42 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gogoman123 View Post
the mobo is a pro version, this is it:http://www.ebuyer.com/261404-asus-p8...h61-m-pro-r3-0

so could the CPUTIN and AUXTIN be not accurate? but 3 different softwares are saying the same thing.
Because they get their info from the same sensor.. core temps are always hotter, and messed up sensors on motherboards are pretty common.. really, download Prime95 or LynX and run either of them for 10 minutes and keep an eye on the temp readings..
__________________
"Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar" - Unknown (but sometimes attributed to Sigmund Freud)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-26-2011
Zero82z Zero82z is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Forget about those temperatures. The only ones that matter are the core temperatures. And in any case, if the CPU gets too hot, it will just throttle.
__________________
Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-30-2011
gogoman123 gogoman123 is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, so if indeed theres a faulty sensor somewhere, should i RMA the board or the cpu?

i have been having problems installing the mobo's drivers on xp (system freezes when installing chipset drivers or asus suite), i have tried asus' support but no reply. and no phone support here in the uk, is this common? is it a problem with the hardware. the drivers work fine on windows 7 though.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-30-2011
mariush mariush is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 47 Times in 37 Posts
Default

No, don't RMA it.

It's not a faulty sensor and it's nothing wrong with it.

The board may simply not have the sensors mounted on it or Asus probably just decided to use the same chip that reads the sensors for this single sensor motherboard as the chips used on other motherboards.

It's a money saving thing - instead of ordering 3-5 different chips each in 100.000 pieces, they probably just ordered 500.000 pieces of a standard chip that's capable of reading up to 3 sensors at once and your motherboard simply uses just one sensor, leaving the other two unconnected and showing the default of 90C.

Just let it go.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-30-2011
gogoman123 gogoman123 is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thanks mariush, i agree with regarding the temp issue. however, iam having problems with the drivers on winxp, which will be my main windows. everytime i try to install the "chipset drivers" the screen freezes, the HDD LED stops flashing and nothing is happening. i called asus' customer support in the US and they could not fix the problem, in fact they advised me to RMA it! on asus' forum users are having all kinds of drivers problems so i dont want a board thats gonna give drivers hassle. i think iam gonna go for the MSI board that original sin recommeded, unless anyone who encountered a similar problem can help. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-11-2012
hood6558's Avatar
hood6558 hood6558 is offline
Hood
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

There's nothing wrong with your temps. Speedfan is notorious for showing crazy temp readings. It's only worked correctly on maybe 2 systems out of a dozen I installed it on. Try Real Temp (very accurate) or HWiNFO64 (shows a LOT of sensors).
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-13-2012
allikat allikat is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England
Posts: 572
Thanks: 22
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Something that new may well have limited compatibility with XP, they don't bother to test the drivers much with an OS that old. On the monitoring front, I prefer CPUz's HWmonitor for my temperature watching needs.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k with an XSPC Raystorm water block, 4x4GB Corsair Dominator, SLi Evga-GTX560Ti-448 FTWs, Asrock Extreme4 Gen3, Crucial M4 256GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD, powered by a Silverstone Strider+ 850 PSU in a Silverstone TJ-07BW case.
I'm not buying EK GPU blocks ever again. (One GPU killed)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-16-2012
walterm walterm is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WATERBURY, CT USA
Posts: 545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

My feeling is "XP" operating system version is not compatible with motherboard.
I would trust the Bios readings unless system is throttling or shutting down.
Admittedly an amateur opinion. I do have a Gigabyte board the North Bridge temperature is always shown as high.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -