jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2012
Flip4Life Flip4Life is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can I SLI GTX 560ti w/ CORSAIR TX650 V2 In My Current System?

Hello,

Today newegg threw the GTX 560ti on sale for $40 off and I have 3 monitors, but only one 560ti so I am only able to hook up 2. I really want 3 monitors as it would help greatly for my web design. So here is my question w/ my specs:

I have a CORSAIR TX650 V2 and I wanted to know if it would be enough to SLI two GeForce GTX 560ti's in my current system. (also I wanted to know what I would have to buy to make it so I could have enough PCI Express power plugs as the TX650 only comes with 2, 3-4 pin plugs - GTX 560ti takes 6 pins each).

I also have an Intel i7-2600K CPU @ Stock 3.4GHz (don't know how to overclock so wasn't really planning on doing that)

Antec Nine Hundred Two V3 Case with nothing else other than stock fans etc.

8GB of ram, and that's about all.

So is there any way that I can pull this off? I really want to get 3 monitors up and running.

Thanks so much guys,

heard some great things about these forums so hope this can help!

(Still beating myself up over the fact that I didn't spend the extra $20 and get the TX750) - :/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2012
rafal_iB_PL rafal_iB_PL is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,976
Thanks: 48
Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Corsair TX650 v2 only has 2 PCI-E, so unfortunately (each 560Ti requires 2 of them), you're forced to used Molex > 6-pin adapters. According to specs, you have 8 Molexes, so you shouldn't run out of connectors, but cable management can get pretty ugly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2012
Flip4Life Flip4Life is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rafal_iB_PL View Post
Corsair TX650 v2 only has 2 PCI-E, so unfortunately (each 560Ti requires 2 of them), you're forced to used Molex > 6-pin adapters. According to specs, you have 8 Molexes, so you shouldn't run out of connectors, but cable management can get pretty ugly.
Okay, I'll have to pop open my case and look around in there to see how I can work around it. I have all of my cables hidden behind the back of the case so not too sure how it would turn out. As for "Is it possible/okay/safe" to SLI them with my Power Supply is what I'm more concerned about now. Thanks for the info, I will definitely try to check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2012
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,508
Thanks: 130
Thanked 166 Times in 111 Posts
Default

I would call it close, but I wouldn't call it "unsafe". If it turns out the PSU can't handle it, it'll just shut down under heavy load. Run Prime on each of your cores and a gaming benchmark at the same time to see if the PC shuts down. If it does, time for a new PSU.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2012
allikat allikat is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: England
Posts: 559
Thanks: 16
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Default

The PSU should cope, even over clocked the normal 560Ti pulls between 150 and 200w each, leaving around 250w for the rest of the system, which would be fine if you don't have too much in the rest of it.
It will be ugly, with the adapters, but it should work. However, with a pair of 560's in there, you may well want to add an intake fan or two to keep up with their demands for cool air.
As JG says, try it, and see if it shuts off under heavy load. In time, you may well decide to spring the extra money for a slightly bigger PSU with the native cabling you need for 2 of those cards.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k with an XSPC Raystorm water block, 4x4GB Corsair Dominator, SLi Evga-GTX560Ti-448 FTWs, Asrock Extreme4 Gen3, Crucial M4 256GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD, powered by a Silverstone Strider+ 850 PSU in a Silverstone TJ-07BW case.
I'm not buying EK GPU blocks ever again. (One GPU killed)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2012
Flip4Life Flip4Life is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyGURU View Post
I would call it close, but I wouldn't call it "unsafe". If it turns out the PSU can't handle it, it'll just shut down under heavy load. Run Prime on each of your cores and a gaming benchmark at the same time to see if the PC shuts down. If it does, time for a new PSU.
Hey, thanks so much I really appreciate the quick reply and useful information. I have never heard of Prime so I will definitely look into that when trying it out, thanks so much for everything!


Quote:
Originally Posted by allikat View Post
The PSU should cope, even over clocked the normal 560Ti pulls between 150 and 200w each, leaving around 250w for the rest of the system, which would be fine if you don't have too much in the rest of it.
It will be ugly, with the adapters, but it should work. However, with a pair of 560's in there, you may well want to add an intake fan or two to keep up with their demands for cool air.
As JG says, try it, and see if it shuts off under heavy load. In time, you may well decide to spring the extra money for a slightly bigger PSU with the native cabling you need for 2 of those cards.
Alright, another fan wouldn't hurt. I'm just hoping that I wont have to get a bigger PSU, not because of the cost... More-so because of how long it would take to swap it out in my rig with everything currently tucked away :P

I appreciate the responses, thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.