jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Software > Operating Systems

Operating Systems Troubleshooting and discussions of computer operating systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2011
walterm walterm is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WATERBURY, CT USA
Posts: 542
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default Dell recovery/install discs (and Compaq)

I've been told I can use Dell recovery disc's and COAs to do a clean install on any computer, so long as the COAs are not in use. This violates my understanding of how the OEM process works.
Now am I hearing about a scam, or is this possible?
Situation two, I have several old Compaq/HP machines that have COA's for XP or XP PRO (or NT OR 2000 LOL), ANYWAY I've some recoverey discs collected, but they do not match original model numbers. All of these need new or "old/used but newer" larger HDDs.
ANYONE familiar with these murky waters?
Confusion three. I used a Vista OEM install on my 05 Compaq, this should mean I can install its XP on another HP/Compaq computer with this COA? oR IS IT still attached to motherboard?
Yeah I know I'm DREAMING, but MS only supports XP PRO now and I hate to trash some old machines just cause they are old. And some of the boards are not supported beyond XP. i CAN'T JUSTIFY SPENDING $ on OS for these.
So tell me tell me ..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2011
shovenose shovenose is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fairfax, CA
Posts: 561
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i have used dell xp home/pro oem cds for eerything: hp(compaq), dell, gateway, with no issues. also, i use the same product key over and over again.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2011
Zero82z Zero82z is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Technically, you are not allowed to move an OEM OS from one computer to another. Practically, it is usually possible. The problem is that XP had a pretty convoluted serial number system, and sometimes it's difficult to know whether or not the key you have will work with a particular set of installation discs. The only thing you can really do is try to install the OS you have and see if the serial number will be accepted and if the OS will activate successfully.
__________________
Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2011
shovenose shovenose is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fairfax, CA
Posts: 561
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

by the way, if it wont let you activate over the internet just call them and claim thats its the first time youve used that key, and theyll give you a long number to put in to activate it
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2011
walterm walterm is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WATERBURY, CT USA
Posts: 542
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2011
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,750
Thanks: 155
Thanked 227 Times in 161 Posts
Default

It's not just a particular algorithm in the key. Often, the OS install disc will look for a particular BIOS string. If it's not the BIOS the disc is looking for, the install won't work.

They've been doing that since XP.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements aka Yellowbeard
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2011
shovenose shovenose is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fairfax, CA
Posts: 561
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

good old 2000 didnt need to be activated at all
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.