jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Software > Operating Systems

Operating Systems Troubleshooting and discussions of computer operating systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2009
Silk_the_Absent1's Avatar
Silk_the_Absent1 Silk_the_Absent1 is offline
Pragmatic Contrarian
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central NEW Mexico
Posts: 724
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Windows 7 upgrade.

This past week I upgraded the living room computer to Vista Home Premium 64, and it came (OEM from Newegg) with an upgrade voucher for Windows 7 HP 64. Because there is a time frame it needs to be submitted, and I'm worried about losing the damn thing, think I should put in for it now?

If I do it now, when it comes, is there a certain amount of time that I am required to install it in? Or can I do it when I am ready (say, when 7 has drivers for what we need).

-Adam
__________________
System 1: Core i5-4670K | GA-Z87X-D3H | HD6870 | Audigy2 ZS Platinum | 2*4GB G.Skill PC3 17000 | 750GB Caviar Black |2TB Spinpoint F4 | Lian-Li Rocketfish | Capstone 750-M
Portable Thingie: HP Pavillion G7-2320DX
Be the census taker... I'm hungry.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2009
Zero82z Zero82z is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would put in for the upgrade ASAP. And you won't have a time limit to install it in. The license should be good indefinitely.
__________________
Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2009
Silk_the_Absent1's Avatar
Silk_the_Absent1 Silk_the_Absent1 is offline
Pragmatic Contrarian
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central NEW Mexico
Posts: 724
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Put in for it, estimated shipping date is November 5th. Interesting that the company HP is using is requiring a receipt and charging for shipping (only $13, but still); while M$ is not requiring either.

<shrug>

-Adam
__________________
System 1: Core i5-4670K | GA-Z87X-D3H | HD6870 | Audigy2 ZS Platinum | 2*4GB G.Skill PC3 17000 | 750GB Caviar Black |2TB Spinpoint F4 | Lian-Li Rocketfish | Capstone 750-M
Portable Thingie: HP Pavillion G7-2320DX
Be the census taker... I'm hungry.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2009
Silk_the_Absent1's Avatar
Silk_the_Absent1 Silk_the_Absent1 is offline
Pragmatic Contrarian
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central NEW Mexico
Posts: 724
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I just got the 64-bit Home Premium from the desktop, the 32-bit Home Premium for my laptop hasn't gotten here yet.

I'm not in a hurry to install it, but when I do, anyone know if it can be done as a clean (ie. format) install? I *hate* upgrade installs with a passion well-neigh holy.

-Adam
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5386.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	38.3 KB
ID:	1166  
__________________
System 1: Core i5-4670K | GA-Z87X-D3H | HD6870 | Audigy2 ZS Platinum | 2*4GB G.Skill PC3 17000 | 750GB Caviar Black |2TB Spinpoint F4 | Lian-Li Rocketfish | Capstone 750-M
Portable Thingie: HP Pavillion G7-2320DX
Be the census taker... I'm hungry.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2009
sdbardwick's Avatar
sdbardwick sdbardwick is offline
500W User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Yup.

Clean installs are possible from upgrade media even to virgin disks - you need to jump through a few hoops.

If you start from an installed OS, clean install can be selected easily. For a clean install, you need to select the "Custom" option.

Last edited by sdbardwick; 10-27-2009 at 02:09 PM. Reason: "Custom" option note
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2009
madmat's Avatar
madmat madmat is offline
Just kidding, not banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: In yer 'fridge, eatin' yer pizza
Posts: 1,785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

The only hoop I know of is that you have to choose custom install, install it without a key (and no updating!) then do an upgrade from within 7. You use the key that time and let it update if you wish. Works just like Vista.
__________________
Sign Me!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2009
sdbardwick's Avatar
sdbardwick sdbardwick is offline
500W User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Double install works, but if one of the other two methods linked to works, you save the reinstall step.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2009
Silk_the_Absent1's Avatar
Silk_the_Absent1 Silk_the_Absent1 is offline
Pragmatic Contrarian
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central NEW Mexico
Posts: 724
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hmm, okay. Well, like I said, I'm in no hurry to install it, but when the 32-bit HP comes for my laptop, I may do that.

Anyone know if there is any truth to the claims of longer battery life than Vista?

-Adam
__________________
System 1: Core i5-4670K | GA-Z87X-D3H | HD6870 | Audigy2 ZS Platinum | 2*4GB G.Skill PC3 17000 | 750GB Caviar Black |2TB Spinpoint F4 | Lian-Li Rocketfish | Capstone 750-M
Portable Thingie: HP Pavillion G7-2320DX
Be the census taker... I'm hungry.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.