jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > CPU Discussion

CPU Discussion Discuss processors here: Past, present and future! No AMD v. Intel flames, please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-23-2007
Super Nade's Avatar
Super Nade Super Nade is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,331
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well boys, looks like 2.7 is a piece of cake as well. This does lend credence to the theory that it is a rebadged S940 chip. I'm gonna game a bit, run a few Mathematica calculations and see if this is for real!

signmeuptoo, what Vcore are you using? The Ultra-D/SLI-DR undervolt the CPU and overvolt the RAM, so your VCore may not be accurate. DL the AMD power monitor tool and see what it says? I'm using the NF4 Expert, which is a lot truer in terms of VCore.

Probably the best $114 ever spent. This rivals the week 30 chips from waay back in 2006. Those bad boys did about 2.6 on stock VCore. Note how the AMD software is far more accurate than the ITE-Smart Guardian or CPUz. Also, temps have stayed within 1 C throughout. I love the scythe infinity but it is one big mofo.

Mat, I think winblows scheduler has something to do with your faster time. This will probably disappear if you install the AMD Dual core optimizer or the Winblows Dual core hot-fix. Without these your results may IMPROVE if you have some program like Pi run exclusively on only one core.



Edit#
Holy crap! It boots up and runs Pi 1M at 2.8!



Edit #2
Well, it looks like the big 3.0 is well within reach. Boy is this chip a killer or what!



It is stable. Pushing for 3.1 now.

Last edited by Super Nade; 06-23-2007 at 06:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-23-2007
Super Nade's Avatar
Super Nade Super Nade is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,331
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry guys, but it looks like the CPU won't quit on me. 3.1GHz and going strong, still on stock VCore.



Stable:


3.2GHz testing.

Last edited by Super Nade; 06-25-2007 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-31-2007
malvindo malvindo is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Nade View Post
Sorry guys, but it looks like the CPU won't quit on me. 3.1GHz and going strong, still on stock VCore.



Stable:


3.2GHz testing.

my 165 LCBQE 0712 only got 9x310 stable @ stock voltage
nice chip Nade keep pushing
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-31-2007
him28 him28 is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

my lcbqe 0712 reaches over 2.9ghz stock on stock. ihs mount is horrible though, core 1 is 10 degrees higher than core 0... wonder what stepping that is, super nade.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-01-2007
signmeuptoo's Avatar
signmeuptoo signmeuptoo is offline
Do Not Look Into LASER w/Remaining Eye!
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cumberland City, TN, USA
Posts: 647
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry, saw this late.

Nope, not the board, because it was even suckier on my other board, the A8V. This LP is known to clock very well, and especially with the RAM I have. I know the RAM can't be the issue because before I got the 4800 I had a 3200 that overclocked plenty, at least 2550 IIRC, on the A8V.

I thought about asking AMD to replace it, but I don't know if they would do it, sigh. I sure wish Newegg hadn't messed up and I could have gotten the 180 Opty I ordered. When I ordered production had supposedly ended and though they should them in stock, they told me they were OOS, which turned out to not be true. In a panic I told them to send me the 4800.

I have read of other guys only getting to about 2700 give or take, at best, with these, they suck for overclocking. It isn't even stable at 2650 so I am running at 2580 right now. I have very good cooling, too: A Thermalright XP-120 Lapped to a mirror finish with Coollabs Liquid Pro Liquid Metal and a BIG Panaflo fan.

It might be that I need to play with the timings more, I don't know, but it seems pretty obvious this chip sucks.
__________________
System #1: DFI LP UT nF4 SLI-DR; Athy 64 s939 4800 Toledo (MKII) @ 3.01GHz w/Thermalright XP-120 Lapped & Panaflo w/Coollabs Liquid Metal compound; 2 x 1GB Team Xtreem Cronus Micron 5B-f DDR-500; EVGA 7950GT; Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum; 6prt Adaptec USB card; SevenTeam ST750Z-AF Modular supply; ASUS DRW 1608DW burner NEC 3520a burner; Seagate 7200.10 750GB SATAII HD; Seagate 7200.10 ES 500 GB SATAII HD; Excelstor 80GB SATAI HD; Coolermaster Stacker STC T01 UWK; it's modest, but paid for
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-01-2007
Super Nade's Avatar
Super Nade Super Nade is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,331
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by him28 View Post
my lcbqe 0712 reaches over 2.9ghz stock on stock. ihs mount is horrible though, core 1 is 10 degrees higher than core 0... wonder what stepping that is, super nade.
Stepping:
LCB9E 0704 XPMW

Its really luck of the draw. I was the first ones to jump on a sub $120 170.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-07-2007
LC_STiK's Avatar
LC_STiK LC_STiK is offline
Kickin' it old school
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dang man. That opty's kicking butt!

Definitely gives me something to looks forward to if I need a cheap system upgrade someday.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-05-2007
doglips doglips is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ya and the newest ones also kick butt! Mine will go 3.0 but needs too much volts.Very happy with everyday use at 2.9 and 1.4v with good temps.
__________________
DFI DK 790FX
Opteron 1210HE 3.01GHz
Thermalright 120 Extreme Laped
Crucial Balistix 2x1GB
XFX8800GT AC S1
WD250 SataII
Silverstone560ZF
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-28-2007
theELVISCERATOR's Avatar
theELVISCERATOR theELVISCERATOR is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

my 4 year old northwood cuts a 36 sec run on 1M....

My soon to arrive C2D should cut it that time in half easily...I am hoping for sub 15 second run.
__________________
E8600 @ 4.5Gghz@1.36v currently, ABit IP35Pro ThermalRight SE128 Corsair Dominators 4gb PC8500 EVGA 280GTX XFI Fatality Gamer Pro
2x150gb Raptors Raid Zero Corsair TX650
Antex 1200 Samsung 216BW
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.