jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > General PC Hardware

General PC Hardware Troubleshooting and discussion of any computer hardware. Includes UPS's and monitors.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2017
Tequila_Burp Tequila_Burp is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Peru
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile PC has been randomly shutting down for a month. Bad PSU? Need advice.

Greetings everyone,

My PC has been randomly shutting down for a month. Sometimes I get a BSOD (see attachment), but most of the time I get nothing. AIDA64 shows a very low value for 12v during a stress GPU test (see attachment). So I think my PSU is dying.

These are my main PC spec:

Intel Core i7-950
Asus P6T
3 Corsair Dominator 2 GB DDR3-1333
2 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460 (1 GB) SLI
SAMSUNG SSD 830 128GB
SAMSUNG HD103SJ (1 TB, 7200 RPM, SATA-II)
Corsair Professional Series HX850W PSU

My PC is 7 years old. I would like to buy a new PSU and test it for a week. If everything is ok I would buy a new GeForce 1060 6GB. If I see a big bottleneck then i will replace other components one by one until am satisfied.

Am not sure which PSU will be good for the new GPU. In Peru, I only found 500W and lower with bronce certificate and 650W and higher with gold and higher certificactions. I have these options:

https://www.memorykings.com.pe/subca...tes-accesorios
http://www2.deltron.com.pe/modulos/p...duct_line=PSCT
http://integrex.com.pe/shopdisplaypr...entes+de+Poder
http://www.compuvisionperu.pe/23-fuentes

From those sites I was thinking of these:
Seasonic 750 Prime Gold $160
Seasonic M12II-620 EVO $82

Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 650W Gold $123
Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Gold $123
Thermaltake Smart Pro 650 Bronze $105

Corsair RM850i Gold $180
Corsair CX750M Bronze $100
Corsair CX500 Bronze $72
Corsair CS650M Gold $113

EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2 850W $195

I saw on SeasonicPeru's facebook a Snow Silent but they don't specify price nor Watts. Worth my attention?

Any thoughts or recommendations will be really appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Test.jpg (79.1 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg BSOD.jpg (123.2 KB, 7 views)

Last edited by Tequila_Burp; 08-27-2017 at 12:58 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,984
Thanks: 480
Thanked 1,896 Times in 1,170 Posts
Default

Can't use AIDA64 to monitor a PSU that doesn't have any kind of voltage monitoring built in.

The problem probably isn't the PSU. Could be memory.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2017
Tequila_Burp Tequila_Burp is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Peru
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply. I did a complete memory test with memtest86+ 2 weeks ago. No errors. How many loops should I do to be sure

edit: Forgot to mention. I am currently with 1 GPU. I swithced GPUs to test. PC shutdown with any of them. However with 2 of them the shutdowns are more frecuently. I will try switching memories to see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,984
Thanks: 480
Thanked 1,896 Times in 1,170 Posts
Default

Try switching memory first. It's the easiest thing to do and most common cause for the problem you're describing.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2017
Tequila_Burp Tequila_Burp is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Peru
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I put back both GPUs. 2 days has passed, no shutdowns until today. When I tried to power it up immediantly, GPUs nor CPU fan were working. After waiting some minutes, they started working again but there was no video signal. I tried to turn it on switching memories, but didn't work. I had to take off the lithium battery and put it back to make it work again. I replaced lithium battery when the problem started because it was the chepeast thing to do and I read it could cause shutdowns. I'm currently working with 2 of 3 memories to see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2017
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 14,984
Thanks: 480
Thanked 1,896 Times in 1,170 Posts
Default

No. The battery does nothing while the PC is on. Motherboard should work without a battery, in fact. All it does is helps keep BIOS settings on your motherboard while there's no +5VSB coming from the PSU.

Sounds like a flaky mobo.
__________________
Rest in peace Mike Clements, aka "Yellowbeard"

Rest in peace Joerg Theissen, aka "GI Joe"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2017
Tequila_Burp Tequila_Burp is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Peru
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Today I forgot to turn off the PC during the night. When I woke up, I moved the mouse and it immediately shutdown (hibernation is disable). Again, when I tried to turn it on, only the fans from the case and drives were on. I let the PC rest for 6 hours and nothing changed. I tried to take off RAM, GPUs and battery but nothing changed. Tried to unplug every cable from the mainboard one by one until I unplugged the motherboard connector. When I replug the motherboard connector the CPU fan started moving. So I put everyhing back to it's place and I finally turned on. I think it's a flaky mobo as you said :/ or probably I'm doing a short somewhere. Could that be a short behavior? I'm doing the last RAM swith just to finish the test

edit: Some connectors look burn (see attachment). Now am not sure if this was done by de PSU or the MB.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2140.JPG (158.5 KB, 13 views)

Last edited by Tequila_Burp; 09-03-2017 at 04:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2017
-The_Mask-'s Avatar
-The_Mask- -The_Mask- is online now
ssssssmokin'
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,790
Thanks: 340
Thanked 1,370 Times in 897 Posts
Default

None, high resistance because bad contact or to much current through the two 12V wires.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-05-2017
Tequila_Burp Tequila_Burp is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Peru
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I will try to find someone to repair 24 pin power connector from PSU and MB. Not sure how this happened. Never manually OC it. Just the default OC like turbo boost and XMP profile. The GPUs are OC by default. I hope this was just
one-time event.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -