jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > CPU Discussion

CPU Discussion Discuss processors here: Past, present and future! No AMD v. Intel flames, please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2016
michmich michmich is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Israel
Posts: 6
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Skylake i7 6700K - Windows 10 & CPU Parking bug?

Hello everyone,

I don't know if my CPU cores are parked.
I wanted to make sure that my Skylake i7 6700K is using all it's cores.
I found this:
"unpark cores in windows"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mv0tYJ74_No

i knew about this before and used to unpark my cores in windows 7, but i thought on windows 10 they solved it and by defualt the CPU will use all the cores (correct me if I'm wrong please).

When i enter to:
task manager --->Performance tab ---> resources monitor ---> CPU tab, nothing for me is parked (there is no indication that says the cores are parked).
but when i open the application which is in the video, it says the cores are parked + also the values are 100.
I might think thats a windows bug?
i took some screenshots:




thing is, the registry value is 100, which is basically mean that some of the intel cores are parked (Please, correct me if im wrong),
while in the resources monitor page it shows all the cores are unparked. (none of them marked as parked or mentioned as parked).

there is a way to check that my processor using all it's cores?
is this a bug ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2016
ridgid13579 ridgid13579 is offline
Jun Fu capacitor advocate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 778
Thanks: 26
Thanked 132 Times in 87 Posts
Default

Did you restart your pc after that?

I doubt "unparking" your cpu cores will do much nowadays.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2016
michmich michmich is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Israel
Posts: 6
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ridgid13579 View Post
Did you restart your pc after that?

I doubt "unparking" your cpu cores will do much nowadays.
Hey, thanks for the response.
What I'm trying to say in this post is:
My cores are unparked already according to windows resources monitor page (i didn't unparked them by anyway), but when i enter the "Manager Parked CPU's" application, it indicates some of the cores are parked.
So my questions is, is that a bug?
is there anyways to check if all my cores are unparked?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © JonnyGURU.com 2000 -