jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2012
solidbarton solidbarton is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Is my underpowered PSU to blame?

Hello all,

Before I present my issue, here is my rig:

PII X4 BE 3.6 OC'ed to 4.0, 1.400v
GTX 560ti 448 Core
4x2GB DDR3 1333 1.6v
WD Black 1TB HDD
Vertex 2 SSD
Sound Blaster PCI card
Aftermarket Heatsink/Fan for processor
5 LED case fans

Old PSU: Antec 650w http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6817371015
Test PSU: Thermaltake 850w http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 6817153158


I've recently gotten back into playing BF3, I think I remember why I stopped a while ago. On somewhat frequent occurrences, my computer would simply crash and force me to restart when I was playing BF3. It would happen only after I'd been playing for at least 20 mins, but it would only be when I was playing BF3. I wouldn't have too much else open, Skype for chatting and maybe Chrome, but that's about it.

Gfx load during BF3 is ~90%-99%.

So, I went out and purchased a Thermaltake 850w to swap out from my old Antec 650w, and for the two days of pretty solid BF3 playing, I haven't had it crash yet.

My question to my fellow hardware-ers, would it be possible that my old Antec 650w simply can't keep up steady power to my rig?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2012
bobnova's Avatar
bobnova bobnova is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 377
Thanks: 5
Thanked 44 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Sounds like it. What model Antec? What model Tt?
The links are broken.

The actual computer isn't eating anything close to 650w, but that doesn't mean the PSU can't degrade till it won't run it correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2012
mariush mariush is offline
1kW User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I'd bet on dusty fan/heatsink on video card or the CPU first.

Then video card drivers

Then I'd bet on memory issues (run memtest, clean the slots of dust)

System's gonna use 200-250w , even a crappy psu would do that much,.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2012
FALC0N FALC0N is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariush View Post

System's gonna use 200-250w , even a crappy psu would do that much,.
That's not correct. Phenom II OC'ed to 4GHz can break 200 watts all by itself.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2012
solidbarton solidbarton is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@bobnova:
Sorry about the links. My Antec is the Earthwatts EA650 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371015

And the Thermaltake is a SMART M Series SP-850M 850W
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153158

@mariush:
I thoroughly dusted/cleaned out my rig about 2 months ago, and have filters on all of the intake fans. I've also tried 3 different sets of drivers, two WHQL and one beta, and found one that crashes less than the others. And... as for memtest, I ran it when this was first happening a couple of months ago and after 8+hours, had no errors reported.

Thanks guys for the input so far, I'm still tinkering with some stuff. I'm going to stress test with Kombustor and see if I can't replicate the crash outside of BF3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2012
solidbarton solidbarton is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I should also note that my Antec is probably going on 4+ years old, with moderate use almost every day.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2012
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,647
Thanks: 139
Thanked 191 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidbarton View Post
I should also note that my Antec is probably going on 4+ years old, with moderate use almost every day.
Although your old Antec PSU isn't underpowered for your PC, it could have very well been an aged PSU that could no longer handle the load causing the reboots. Suspect some swollen caps, etc.

If the PSU was actually overloaded, it should have shut down. But a bad PSU can certainly cause the PC to reboot.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2012
FALC0N FALC0N is offline
200W User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidbarton View Post

My question to my fellow hardware-ers, would it be possible that my old Antec 650w simply can't keep up steady power to my rig?

Thanks in advance!
You could have tested this without the new psu. Just Underclock the cpu to 2.4 Ghz and drop the voltage to 1.2v. That would have reduced CPU draw by over 100 watts. That would have told you if excessive power draw was the problem.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FALC0N For This Useful Post:
ehume (12-13-2012)
  #9  
Old 12-18-2012
solidbarton solidbarton is offline
micro ATX User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm fairly certain that its my old PSU. I've been using the new PSU very extensively over the past couple of days without any incident. So, now I'm deciding between two different PSUs:

Corsair TX650w http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139031
Corsair TX750w http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139030
OCZ ZT Series 750W http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341052

I'm looking for a modular PSU that has good future-readiness. Any other recommendations would be appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2012
Original Sin's Avatar
Original Sin Original Sin is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: in your bathroom
Posts: 1,502
Thanks: 68
Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
Default

You can get a Seasonic G series or a Rosewill Capstone for that kind of money... 500W would also be plenty.

Opent the EA 650 up and check the secondary caps, maybe take some pics and upload them, so we can see what's up.
__________________
"Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar" - Unknown (but sometimes attributed to Sigmund Freud)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.