jonnyGURU Forums
Home Site Search Reviews Articles Contest Links PSU FAQs  


Go Back   jonnyGURU Forums > Computer Hardware > PC Power Supply Discussion

PC Power Supply Discussion Troubleshooting and discussion of computer power supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2007
MrWicked1968's Avatar
MrWicked1968 MrWicked1968 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 1,589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default is a -5v rail important for a socket a machine?

My Mom wants her old mATX case back. In it is a Sparkle 200w PSU http://www.sparklepower.com/pdf/FSP200-50SNV.pdf

the system is fairly basic: AXP 2400, 512mb DDR266, 80gb hdd, DVD rom, FX5200 agp, 60mm and 80mm case fans, stock amd HSF, and an ECS KS741GX mb.

is the lack of a -5v rail going to affect the stability of this system? I seem to remember a brouhaha regarding the -5v rail being neccessary for somebody's motherboard to properly function. but I don't think it had anything to do with socket A.

one of the online PSU calculators said this setup would need 181 watts, but I don't think the calculator accounts for an mATX mb.
__________________
Rig 1: Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 7 32-bit
Rig 2: AM3+ FX4100--Asus M5A 78L-M LX--2x4 GB Patriot 1333--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H--Win 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2007
burebista's Avatar
burebista burebista is offline
Manic Miner
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Romania
Posts: 1,097
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

-5V was for ISA slots and for some audio (on-board or PCI, I don't remember exactly now).
So if you don't have sound you know who's guilty.
But I guess you'll be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2007
jonnyGURU's Avatar
jonnyGURU jonnyGURU is offline
Site Founder
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: jonnyGURU forums, of course!
Posts: 10,627
Thanks: 137
Thanked 189 Times in 131 Posts
Default

On board sound. I know MSI board's sound doesn't work without a -5, but that's about it.
__________________
We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works. -- Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2007
MrWicked1968's Avatar
MrWicked1968 MrWicked1968 is offline
Flux Capacitor User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 1,589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks guys.
__________________
Rig 1: Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ--Win 7 32-bit
Rig 2: AM3+ FX4100--Asus M5A 78L-M LX--2x4 GB Patriot 1333--EVGA GTX 750Ti--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H--Win 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wtb: Socket 939 Motherboard Silk_the_Absent1 For Sale/Trade 1 05-28-2008 06:50 PM
+12V Rail vs +5V Rail and Split Rails farfromhome PC Power Supply Discussion 3 09-01-2007 10:52 PM
Important - time sensitive CPU matter MartyLK CPU Discussion 11 04-14-2007 03:46 PM
Seasonic M12 700 Watt PSU... Not booting Machine CardCounter PC Power Supply Discussion 10 12-22-2006 10:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.