Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Using old PSUs with modern components

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,443
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

    Default Using old PSUs with modern components

    What's your opinion on someone using an old PSU with a modern PC?

    Like an EG701AX-VE with a system that will have a 7970 (GE?) inside.
    Or something about that age (Topower P6 based, like the old Dark Power Pro that was tested on this site )

    How long do you think should someone use a PSU? Should the PSU be upgraded with the rest of the rig (like new motherboard, new CPU and a new graphics card).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany, Berlin
    Posts
    1,556
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    914
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    I wouldn't use anything older than the Enermax Liberty ELT500AWT.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If the thing functions correctly and can put out the proper power levels with decent ripple / etc. I see no reason not to.

    If the thing is out of warranty I'd pop it open to make sure the caps are OK.
    Don't kill yourself popping it open.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,443
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bobnova View Post
    put out the proper power levels with decent ripple / etc. I see no reason not to.
    That's the problem I see with those old units...
    Especially since there is no way to test those things...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    377
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That really depends on who you are.
    If you happen to be on friendly terms with someone who has a test setup in your country, it's easy

    Failing that, I'd look at what it's powering right now. If it's running a 8800 Ultra, a 7970 isn't that much higher load.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bobnova For This Useful Post:

    allikat (12-21-2012), ehume (12-21-2012)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    572
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    22
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I think Bobnova has the right idea there. If it's powering something with a similar power draw right now, there should be no problem at all moving it to something else with a similar load.
    However, given the prices of a 7970, I'd be cautious anyway, no sense frying a 400 dollar GPU when a $100 PSU change could keep it safe.
    Intel i7-2600k with an XSPC Raystorm water block, 4x4GB Corsair Dominator, SLi Evga-GTX560Ti-448 FTWs, Asrock Extreme4 Gen3, Crucial M4 256GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD, powered by a Silverstone Strider+ 850 PSU in a Silverstone TJ-07BW case.
    I'm not buying EK GPU blocks ever again. (One GPU killed)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,525
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    178
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    for several years and untill 2011 I used an Etasis 850 on my system and before I replace it with a modular PSU I tested it just to check its ripple. After 3-4 years of almost constant operation ripple on all rails was minimal and easily matched newer high-end platforms. But it was an Etasis ok, a top notch platform. I don't have experience with crappy or low end PSUs since I never ever used one on my systems.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,443
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    16 Posts

    Default

    Hm, I think it will be interesting if the PSU is much older than 4 years.
    After 4 Years everything should be pretty OK...

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,120
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    367
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    29
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
    Or something about that age (Topower P6 based, like the old Dark Power Pro that was tested on this site
    This one? http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story4&reid=17

    Fuhjyyu caps?

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    702
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    15
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If I see fuhjyyu in any of my gear, I'll quite happily void the warranty and recap it when brand new. I don't trust them for any longer than maybe 3-4 months of use.

    In general, though, I don't have a problem with using an older PSU in new gear, provided that it still works, and isn't a really old 5V-heavy design with only a 10A 12V rectifier
    No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the coils backwards

    Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium.

Similar Threads

  1. What components in PSUs fail first?
    By rgbodosk in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-16-2018, 09:44 AM
  2. Modern Equivalent of OCZ StealthXStream 600w?
    By marcos669 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-16-2017, 04:51 AM
  3. High-quality (modern?) PSU for an old PC
    By God Of Gaming in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 01-12-2017, 07:04 AM
  4. How are modern PSU's protected against overvoltage?
    By OwenBurnett in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-02-2009, 01:14 PM
  5. Do modern PSUs have minimum load reqs on 5v?
    By Kvar in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-24-2008, 12:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •