Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: OEM XP "upgrades"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default OEM XP "upgrades"

    Looks like the cheapest way to get Vista as of now is to buy the OEM version of the WINdows XP of your choice and the upgrade coupon is free. My question is this: will that mean you won't have a fully installable version of Vista? what I'm getting at is, will I have to install the xp software and then "upgrade" it ? or do you think I will be able format and do a stand-alone installation of Vista? I have never done an "upgrade" of any OS, so I'm not sure how this works. Since my dear wife wants to keep the old beater box for scrapbooking, looks like I need and other copy of XP. Thought I might look down the road a little bit in case I decide to go Vista.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    51
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You will be able to do a format and clean install. Even on a clean hard drive all it will do is ask you to put a Windows XP cd in to verify you own it, after its verified the CD (won't copy any files off it or anything, will just check it) it will ask you to put the Vista DVD back in then will proceed with a clean install.

    Okay

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks Chilly, that helps. I didn't want to go down the road of an "ugraded"install, but I do need an OS for the system that I should be bulding in the next couple of days. I'm thinking of going the WINMCE to Vista Home Pro/premium or w/e it's called. I will miss remote desktopping though. The computer I'm building will be pretty much only for gaming, photoshopping and interwebbing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    51
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Heres the upgrade chart in case anyones interested, the version you would get is Vista Home Premium if you go with XP MCE



    Also, heres a link that shows you the differences between each versions of Vista.

    http://www.helpwithwindows.com/Windo...h-version.html


    If you or ANYONE have Windows questions feel free to ask, I know quite alot about Vista's inner workings (as well as XP's :P).

    Cheers ,

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Great Linky Chilly, answered more of the "things I wanted to know about Vista but where too afraid to ask" . I wonder how useful the scheduled backups is, I personally have never utilized an automated backup. Too bad Vista HPE doesn't have the image/ restore feature, sounds useful... in theory.

    Thanks again for all the help. I think I am going to order WINXPMCE tonight.

    -Scotty

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Your Mom's bed
    Posts
    295
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by $cooter View Post
    Great Linky Chilly, answered more of the "things I wanted to know about Vista but where too afraid to ask" . I wonder how useful the scheduled backups is, I personally have never utilized an automated backup. Too bad Vista HPE doesn't have the image/ restore feature, sounds useful... in theory.

    Thanks again for all the help. I think I am going to order WINXPMCE tonight.

    -Scotty
    Why not just order Home Premium now? It's available.

    http://www.mwave.com/mwave/viewspec....0&RSKU=AA66730

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    103
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I like having the option of going back to Xp if I want/have to. Thanks for the update though, I didn't realize it was available for purchase.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    SoCal Moderator
    Posts
    1,051
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Chilly, my Sister's build uses XP Office Pro. So what happens with Power Point, Word, Excel, etc. when up-grading to Vista?
    Aren't there driver issues yet to solve with it being 64bit?
    Will Vista function well on a 32bit system or will it demand a hardware up-grade to be smooth & sweet?

    Sorry for the noibb questions.

    Edit: Upon further reading I have noted that there will be a 32bit as well as 64bit edition. Will the 32bit edition be easily up-gradable?
    Last edited by GalvanizedYankee; 01-23-2007 at 03:18 PM. Reason: NOTED
    Worth a good looking over. http://www.badcaps.net/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Actually, the oem upgrades are not stand alone installable. They are tied to the oem xp version and the machine to be installed on. You have to first install the oem xp, activate it, then you install the vista upgrade from within xp. From there you can either upgrade over xp or do a custom install in which case your xp is removed to a folder windows.old. You can't have both installed. Recovery is supported by booting the dvd at least.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NW USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So how would it work for us running W2K? or are we just TROGS that don't deserve an upgrade... Would be nice to know.
    My Rig:
    Biostar Tforce 6100-939 | A64 3500+ | WD 40Gb | 1Gb Corsair XMS | Liteon 52x32x52 | AMS Mercury PP-4603.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-04-2017, 08:12 PM
  2. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-12-2016, 07:04 PM
  3. Athena Power "600w" SFX "80 Plus Bronze"
    By cheese007 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-23-2013, 09:50 AM
  4. SkyHawk aka EagleTech "PowerOne" aka "PantherPower" photos
    By Jon Gerow in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-07-2007, 02:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •