Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 77

Thread: Corsair AX760i, AX860i and AX760, AX860 coming soon

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    jonnyGURU forums, of course!
    Posts
    15,489
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    499
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    38
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
    I still would like to see hard-switches for OCP at least. Less software only control
    I have to agree. Unfortunately, Doug Dobson has done a REALLY good job at brainwashing. At the very least, enable the OCP by default and allow the user to disable it. You can't really have a "hard switch" when there's no supervisor IC, but it can be programmed into the DSP which completely takes the place of the supervisor IC.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in your bathroom
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    68
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
    I still would like to see hard-switches for OCP at least. Less software only control
    Personally, I completely dislike the "software control & monitoring features"... I find it pointless and imprecise, more so when you consider the added costs of it. I'd opt for hard-switches as well, for all the relevant DSP (added) functions, ignore monitoring all together, a cheap DMM does a better job anyway.
    "Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar" - Unknown (but sometimes attributed to Sigmund Freud)

  3. #33
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,020
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    405
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    The AX-i unit's monitoring abilities should be good given the software is properly calibrated to the PSUs themselves though.

    Since the AX1200i had Vsense lines running and a DSP to manage all of that.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,119
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    8
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
    Since the AX1200i had Vsense lines running and a DSP to manage all of that.
    What do you mean by that exactly?

    But yes, the software monitoring is a gimmick at best.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,020
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    405
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    As I undestand it, the unit has Vsense lines running back into the unit and thus into the DSP.
    The DSP should be able to accurately read the voltages, at least enough for the end users purposes.

    It may be a gimmick and only useful to those who like to obsessively check things; but I doubt it's so inaccurate to be completely useless.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in your bathroom
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    68
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I don't follow your reasoning, it doesn't report the correct nominal values and its deviation is not a standard offset, so you can't measure the actual drop/variation based on the offset.. so (to me) it is useless (just like the quasi-similar EVGA tool is). Your paying a premium for something that's outclassed by a 30$ DMM.
    You could argue that the liberty/ability to modify the nominal value could/would help with some (rare) extreme OC scenarios, but even then it's more about myth than fact and it's certainly less useful than (lets say) a small digital clock and a potentiometer (it's not like you're gonna' play with Corsair Link in an extreme OC scenario where you're struggling to boot at a certain clock or complete a SuperPI run.
    "Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar" - Unknown (but sometimes attributed to Sigmund Freud)

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,020
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    405
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    5
    Thanked in
    3 Posts

    Default

    Voltage tweaking to the board in XOC can be very useful.

    Has anyone actually tested Corsair's Link software for accuracy? If it's good enough to accurately report the drop then it would be very useful.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    177
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Wait till tomorrow




    ps. CapXon polymer caps for +12V filtering
    Last edited by crmaris; 11-06-2012 at 08:52 AM.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,700
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    116
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Still polymers.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    5,081
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    367
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    14 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rafal_iB_PL View Post
    Still polymers.
    Indeed

Similar Threads

  1. Corsair ax760i vs EVGA 750 p2
    By Fbaez_91 in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-26-2016, 08:09 PM
  2. Corsair AX860/AX860i vs EVGA P2 850W
    By Andy_Sixx in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-17-2016, 02:07 PM
  3. Corsair AX860
    By kimandsally in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-23-2015, 11:54 AM
  4. ax860 vs ax860i
    By sblantipodi in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 01-09-2013, 08:34 PM
  5. Corsair AX760 & AX860 Review @ KitGuru
    By Tator Tot in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-20-2012, 07:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •