Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with choosing PSU

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Help with choosing PSU

Hello, I'm trying to piece together my first PC, but I'm a complete noob and I need your help with choosing the right PSU. I'd be very grateful if you estimate the wattage and help me settle on a brand or model. I've used a few power supply calculators but their reliability is often questioned and I don't want to overestimate. The components of my build are:

Intel Core i3-3225
    Asus P8H77-M PRO Intel H77
    Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA3 (ST1000DM003)
    Kingston DDR3 8GB(2x4GB) 1600MHz HyperX CL9
    Pioneer DVD burner DVR-S19LBK

The PC will be used to browse the internet (with up to 30 tabs open), watch HD (including Blu-ray) movies, download and unpack files and to possibly to encode movies but probably not. It will be on for about 5 hours a day on average and will be at idle a lot of the time. I'd like to make my build (including PSU) as future proof as my pretty low budget allows. The future upgrades that I can imagine now (but not planning yet) are a 128gb SSD, discrete GPU (but only when Intel HD 4000 is not sufficient to watch HD movies), mid-end sound card and a Blu-ray burner or reader. Last but not least, I live in Poland and my choice is a bit limited and the computer parts are overpriced in my country. I am also constrained by the fact that only a few affordable computer stores offer PC assembly in Poland and the processor I've chosen is available only in one of them, so I have to choose the PSU in this one store.

I'd like the PSU to be firstly reliable, secondly energy efficient, thirdly future proof (more than 5 years) and quiet, also modular . Although I decided on an mATX motherboard, I will buy an ATX case, so do not take this mATX format into consideration.Could you comment on this one below?

OCZ Silencer MKIII 400W

Any suggestions most welcome, thanks!