Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: [Help] Weird Problem with Gtx 560 ti!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default [Help] Weird Problem with Gtx 560 ti!!

    Guys! I am encountering a very confusing problem.
    My System specs are :

    Intel core i5 2400 @ 3.1Ghz
    Intel DH67CL Mobo
    Sparkle gtx 560 ti
    PSU : Asus p-55ga (550W)
    1 Hdd, 1 Optical, 6 Case fans.

    The problem is my gtx 560ti is acting weird on me. I am experiencing very very frequent BSOD on cold boot, cpu/gpu stress tests like furmark/msi kombuster and games. The GPU wont start up on cold boot (No signal to screen).

    But, this same GPU when tested on my friends rig whose pc specs are :
    core i5 2500k @ 4.6Ghz
    Asrock extreme gen4
    PSU : Xigmatek NRP-MC 702 (700W)
    Plus many fans, optical and hdds

    It runs super fine. Like even when OC @ 1Ghz!!
    Which made me think that My PSU is the culprit. To be sure, I tested my friend's Gigabyte windforce gtx 560ti SOC (950/2290) and it worked like charm. I mean, i ran stress tests for 2/3 mins and there was no crash/BSOD of any kind.

    One more thing I Noticed is that My sparkle Gtx 560ti has voltage set to 1012mV where as the highly OC gigabyte version has 950mV.
    I tried to de-clock my card. Lowered the voltage, core frequency and memory clock. The Card worked then!

    I am now totally confused. Does the reference Sparkle gtx 560ti eats more watts then gigabyte 560ti SOC? Or my PSU is playing on me?

    * Plus my psu is like more then 2 years old nw. Could it be the cause? but then why the gigabyte gpu worked?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,391
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sounds more like a driver/ MB problem.

    The Intel® Desktop Board DH67CL also supports Intel® HD Graphics with the LucidLogix Virtu* GPU virtualization software, which combines best-in-class media processing features of the 2nd generation Intel® Core™ processors with the 3D gaming performance of graphics add-in cards.
    I don't know anything about your BIOS, but when you have virtualization switching and an extra chip...then you start to multiply the chances of frequency conflict possibilities.

    Like I said, I don't have any experience with this MB, but I would start with BIOS update, then progress to disabling the Lucid features to see if it solves your GPU problems.

    Not likely to be a PSU problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    192
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    mdk777.. Virtu needs to be forced-lish enabled. If he didn't said anything about it, then there's a good chance he doesn't even suspect it's presence. In which case, it'll have no effect :P

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,391
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah, just guessing...but when it works fine on one rig and not another...
    and

    The GPU wont start up on cold boot (No signal to screen).
    I wonder if he has the PCIE Card set as Primary, or not.

    Also, OC tends to be more complex when you start to have multiple hand-offs...CPUGPU....controller chip...GPU.... OC VID memory frequency
    ....Heck that it can work at all is nothing short of a miracle.

    I don't have experience with the rig; I always go completely discrete GPU.

    However, I'm willing to bet that it is a driver /BIOS conflict/.

    Heck my 560-TI started artifacting with a CUDA program it didn't like.
    Nothing was wrong with the card or rig. Just that particular piece of programming set it off the deep end.

    Anyway, OP, let us know what you find..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I tried all things! like setting BIOS video setting to "Enable if Primary" to PCI-E chip and manually forcing the onboard chipset to disable, but it also didn't worked.

    One more thing guys! when that "Enable if primary" is set on! and every thing is on auto! When gpu is unable to display at cold boot, the output to my next screen comes through the onboard chipset (ive dual led setup *one connected to onboard graphics and other to GPU for troubleshooting).

    Plus if it had been the bios/MB issue, then why Gigabyte 560ti worked? that too like twice! (tested!)?

    And i noticed that on boot, if checked through bios, the 12V voltage is like 11.88V. When checked through speed fan, it drops to 11.53 on heavy stress tests like furmark etc.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2,700
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    116
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    BIOS and software readings are not exactly reliable, for multiple reasons. Actual DMM checking is your best bet.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    But why gigabyte 560ti worked on it?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowww View Post
    mdk777.. Virtu needs to be forced-lish enabled. If he didn't said anything about it, then there's a good chance he doesn't even suspect it's presence. In which case, it'll have no effect :P
    Yup! no virtu lucida software installed!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,391
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    OK, worth a try.
    But
    When gpu is unable to display at cold boot, the output to my next screen comes through the onboard chipset (ive dual led setup *one connected to onboard graphics and other to GPU for troubleshooting).
    still concerns me.

    Try using only the GPU and see what happens.

    Could be of course that your card has VRM issues; that a more robust PSU source compensates for, and which are not seen with your PSU on the other card.

    Could be a catch 22 situation, neither your card or PSU are technically deficient(RMA worthy) but don't work with each other.

    At this point, I would say a new PSU would be cheaper than a new graphics card. (of course in the future you could go easy on the card OC and obsessive Furmark testing and the VRM on the card will last longer. )

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdk777 View Post
    OK, worth a try.
    But


    still concerns me.

    Try using only the GPU and see what happens.

    Could be of course that your card has VRM issues; that a more robust PSU source compensates for, and which are not seen with your PSU on the other card.

    Could be a catch 22 situation, neither your card or PSU are technically deficient(RMA worthy) but don't work with each other.

    At this point, I would say a new PSU would be cheaper than a new graphics card. (of course in the future you could go easy on the card OC and obsessive Furmark testing and the VRM on the card will last longer. )

    Tried setting it on GPU only. Didn't worked either. The only thing that is keeping me from RMA my GPU is that it worked on my friend's PC! So I have decided to get a new PSU instead.
    Any Suggestions? Oh and I forgot to mention that I am from Pk. Which means I have only access to some models of Cooler Master, Antec, Corsair, Xigmatek, ThermalTake and few FSP.

Similar Threads

  1. A really weird way at looking at things
    By Cprossu in forum Electronic Theory and Principle
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-07-2018, 11:44 AM
  2. Weird PSU behavior
    By ItsACDee in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-25-2017, 12:26 PM
  3. Weird PSU issue
    By CAD4466HK in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-03-2014, 03:36 PM
  4. Weird PS problem, only turns on if I "jump" it with a tester
    By HexiumVII in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-16-2013, 06:31 PM
  5. Funny Weird Al
    By Jon Gerow in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-17-2008, 05:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •