Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: i5 2400 at 90C!!!!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in your bathroom
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    68
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gogoman123 View Post
    the mobo is a pro version, this is it:http://www.ebuyer.com/261404-asus-p8...h61-m-pro-r3-0

    so could the CPUTIN and AUXTIN be not accurate? but 3 different softwares are saying the same thing.
    Because they get their info from the same sensor.. core temps are always hotter, and messed up sensors on motherboards are pretty common.. really, download Prime95 or LynX and run either of them for 10 minutes and keep an eye on the temp readings..
    "Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar" - Unknown (but sometimes attributed to Sigmund Freud)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Forget about those temperatures. The only ones that matter are the core temperatures. And in any case, if the CPU gets too hot, it will just throttle.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    ok, so if indeed theres a faulty sensor somewhere, should i RMA the board or the cpu?

    i have been having problems installing the mobo's drivers on xp (system freezes when installing chipset drivers or asus suite), i have tried asus' support but no reply. and no phone support here in the uk, is this common? is it a problem with the hardware. the drivers work fine on windows 7 though.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    380
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    No, don't RMA it.

    It's not a faulty sensor and it's nothing wrong with it.

    The board may simply not have the sensors mounted on it or Asus probably just decided to use the same chip that reads the sensors for this single sensor motherboard as the chips used on other motherboards.

    It's a money saving thing - instead of ordering 3-5 different chips each in 100.000 pieces, they probably just ordered 500.000 pieces of a standard chip that's capable of reading up to 3 sensors at once and your motherboard simply uses just one sensor, leaving the other two unconnected and showing the default of 90C.

    Just let it go.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    ok thanks mariush, i agree with regarding the temp issue. however, iam having problems with the drivers on winxp, which will be my main windows. everytime i try to install the "chipset drivers" the screen freezes, the HDD LED stops flashing and nothing is happening. i called asus' customer support in the US and they could not fix the problem, in fact they advised me to RMA it! on asus' forum users are having all kinds of drivers problems so i dont want a board thats gonna give drivers hassle. i think iam gonna go for the MSI board that original sin recommeded, unless anyone who encountered a similar problem can help. thanks

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Jacksonville FL
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There's nothing wrong with your temps. Speedfan is notorious for showing crazy temp readings. It's only worked correctly on maybe 2 systems out of a dozen I installed it on. Try Real Temp (very accurate) or HWiNFO64 (shows a LOT of sensors).

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    572
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    22
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Something that new may well have limited compatibility with XP, they don't bother to test the drivers much with an OS that old. On the monitoring front, I prefer CPUz's HWmonitor for my temperature watching needs.
    Intel i7-2600k with an XSPC Raystorm water block, 4x4GB Corsair Dominator, SLi Evga-GTX560Ti-448 FTWs, Asrock Extreme4 Gen3, Crucial M4 256GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB HDD, powered by a Silverstone Strider+ 850 PSU in a Silverstone TJ-07BW case.
    I'm not buying EK GPU blocks ever again. (One GPU killed)

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    WATERBURY, CT USA
    Posts
    545
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    My feeling is "XP" operating system version is not compatible with motherboard.
    I would trust the Bios readings unless system is throttling or shutting down.
    Admittedly an amateur opinion. I do have a Gigabyte board the North Bridge temperature is always shown as high.

Similar Threads

  1. i5 2400 core speed 1596.1MHz in cpuz and BIOS?
    By gogoman123 in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2011, 10:19 AM
  2. ATI 2400 and 2600 deliberately priced low
    By mp666 in forum GPU Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-24-2007, 11:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •