Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: i5 2400 at 90C!!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default i5 2400 at 90C!!!!

    hi all. i just assembled a new build and installed xp. in the bios it says the cpu temp is 40C but when i load windows, i ran speedfan to check the temps, this is what i get

    SYSTEM: 32C
    CPU: 90C
    AUX: 90C
    SMIOVT4: 32C
    SMIOVT5: 32C
    SMIOVT6: 32C
    HD0: 29C
    HD1: 50C
    CORE0: 33C

    EDIT: here are the pics:
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/35/hwmoniter.jpg/
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/825/speedfanh.jpg/
    and hwmoniter


    SYSTIN: 31C
    CPUTIN: 90C
    AUXTIN: 90C

    INTEL CORE I5 2400
    Temp
    Core#0 32C
    Core#1 33C
    Core#2 31C
    Core#3 35C
    Package 33C


    is it really 90C? or should i read the cores temps?

    plz help. thanks
    Last edited by gogoman123; 08-26-2011 at 01:13 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in your bathroom
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    68
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Be sure you installed the cooler right, one bolt not putting pressure on the mounting kit and this is what you get.. and check the fan speed, i've seen faulty ones which won't pass 1k rpm even though they should reach 3k+ rpms, if that's the case you need to return it..
    "Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar" - Unknown (but sometimes attributed to Sigmund Freud)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    ok i doubled checked that the cooler is installed right and i checked the fan speed in the bios its 1690 rmp and the cpu temp in the bios is 40C
    here is a pic of coretemp:http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...etempscrt.png/

    i even went into the bios and made a manual cpu fan profile where i set the
    cpu upper limit 70C
    cpu fan max duty cycle 100%
    cpu lower temp 20C
    cpu fan min duty cycle 40%

    but it didnt change anything. thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in your bathroom
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    68
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, open the case, and see how hot is the CPU heat sink, if it's not very hot take down the cooler and mount it again.. it's weird tbh..
    "Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar" - Unknown (but sometimes attributed to Sigmund Freud)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    ok i touched the metal fins on the cooler and they r cool while the os is running. i took it out then installed it again and still no change iam getting the same values from all softwares. can someone help me plz, is this a faulty cooler? is this damaging my cpu? or is just wrong values reported by the softwares, the cores' temps is ok, right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in your bathroom
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    68
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gogoman123 View Post
    ok i touched the metal fins on the cooler and they r cool while the os is running. i took it out then installed it again and still no change iam getting the same values from all softwares. can someone help me plz, is this a faulty cooler? is this damaging my cpu? or is just wrong values reported by the softwares, the cores' temps is ok, right?
    If the CPU heat sink is cool when 90 degrees are listed, something is pretty wrong with the contact between the cooler's base and the IHS. either not enough pressure, or maybe you lack thermal paste or miss applied it(you haven't mentioned it).. it won't damage your CPU unless you run it like this for a while
    Get more software readings.. try AIDA.. anyway, even though software readings aren't reliable, the differences you mentioned are ridiculous..
    Last edited by Original Sin; 08-26-2011 at 04:49 PM.
    "Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar" - Unknown (but sometimes attributed to Sigmund Freud)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    yeh sorry i forgot to mention iam using stock cooler which came with thermal paste pre-applied so i just put it on top of the cpu and pushed the pins 2 at a time diagonally as stated in the manual. to make sure that it stuck in place i lifted the cooler and the mobo was stuck to it firmly, it didnt feel loose. i will try AIDA in a minute

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    380
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    Did you remove the foil that was over the thermal paste? I'm not sure if Intel still has foil over the paste, it had some time ago.

    Anyway, when you're in Windows doing nothing the heatsink should be warm but not hot - the processor is not that hot in the first place...
    SYSTIN: 31C
    CPUTIN: 90C
    AUXTIN: 90C

    INTEL CORE I5 2400
    Temp
    Core#0 32C
    Core#1 33C
    Core#2 31C
    Core#3 35C
    Package 33C
    33-35C sounds about right so the software probably detects the temperature correctly and those two values of 90C are some defaults saying "not implemented" or "not available".

    My guess would be that there may be a "deluxe" or "pro" version of your motherboard which has two additional temperature sensors somewhere on the mainboard but in your regular version, the actual temperature sensors are not physically present.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in your bathroom
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    68
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mariush View Post
    My guess would be that there may be a "deluxe" or "pro" version of your motherboard which has two additional temperature sensors somewhere on the mainboard but in your regular version, the actual temperature sensors are not physically present.
    Pretty plausible..
    "Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar" - Unknown (but sometimes attributed to Sigmund Freud)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    27
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    the mobo is a pro version, this is it:http://www.ebuyer.com/261404-asus-p8...h61-m-pro-r3-0

    so could the CPUTIN and AUXTIN be not accurate? but 3 different softwares are saying the same thing.

Similar Threads

  1. i5 2400 core speed 1596.1MHz in cpuz and BIOS?
    By gogoman123 in forum CPU Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2011, 10:19 AM
  2. ATI 2400 and 2600 deliberately priced low
    By mp666 in forum GPU Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-24-2007, 11:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •