Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Weird BSODs On Startup

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    119
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    This is my only computer with DDR3 and I have no extra memory so I can't test that out. I will try a module at a time, and different banks.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    2,245
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    127
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rty View Post
    This is my only computer with DDR3 and I have no extra memory so I can't test that out. I will try a module at a time, and different banks.
    Perhaps you could take them to a friend, who does have a DDR3 MoBo and some spare time, or something... Just sayin'.
    Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    119
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    They fail both one at a time and in banks 2 and 3. So there is no way to tell if this is a RAM or mobo issue just from a memtest failure?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    2,245
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    127
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rty View Post
    They fail both one at a time and in banks 2 and 3. So there is no way to tell if this is a RAM or mobo issue just from a memtest failure?
    Unfortunately, you just can't be certain. It could be an incompatibility issue between the board and the memory, and even if they're both working individually, they could be malfunctioning when paired.

    Probably the most feasible option at this time is an RMA, you just need to figure out if you'll ask for the same RAM model, or a different one, that they tested with your board, or with other, similar Gigabyte board models... Try to get a hold of a DDR3-capable board, and/or different DDR3 to try to rule out if either the board or the RAM is defective. If the RAM works in other board(s) and your board works with other RAM, you could maybe swap memories with the friend who helped you test, or, request different RAM from either the retailer you bought from, or G-Skill itself.

    Sorry I couldn't help more, and good luck with solving your problem...
    Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    119
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    No problem. Thanks for the help.

    Actually I noticed the minimum DRAM voltage on the board is 1.6V not 1.5V. I don't suppose that could cause problems though? Although I've had this PC for a year and this issue only came up fairly recently.
    Last edited by rty; 11-04-2010 at 08:43 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    2,245
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    127
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rty View Post
    No problem. Thanks for the help.

    Actually I noticed the minimum DRAM voltage on the board is 1.6V not 1.5V. I don't suppose that could cause problems though?
    Not really, the chips used on this particular RAM are made to work on 1.65V, but at 2x667 they can (most of the time) make do with 1.5V
    If you were to downclock them to, say, 2x533, you could probably get away with even a bit lower than that.
    This is, sadly, most likely a compatibility (or lack thereof) issue. This is why most board manufacturers, Gigabyte included, provide a QVL (qualified vendors list), which states what memory modules the in-house testers checked against the board. According to their list, even though a number of G.Skill modules were tested, yours was not one of them...
    Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    119
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    When I tried one stick at a time they did produce errors at different points during the test. Does that tell me anything? One had an error almost right away and the second stick ran about 30% of the tests before it produced an error. If it is a compatibility issue and the sticks are identical shouldn't they have the same errors?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    2,245
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    127
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rty View Post
    When I tried one stick at a time they did produce errors at different points during the test. Does that tell me anything? One had an error almost right away and the second stick ran about 30% of the tests before it produced an error. If it is a compatibility issue and the sticks are identical shouldn't they have the same errors?
    Re-running the test which encountered the error, do you get the error at the same point on the same module? If so, then the modules are most likely faulty. If not, they're just partially incompatible, or even the memory controller is failing for some strange reason...

    At any rate, please re-test, and see if you can replicate the (nearly) exact result more than 2 times. Should you be able to, it would mean you have pinpointed the error within each module.
    Careful what you wish for... You just might get it.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    119
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I ran some tests today one stick at a time and this time one of the sticks passed, the other one produced the same error 3 times. lol

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    561
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Run an overnight test on the one that passed. Replace the other

Similar Threads

  1. A really weird way at looking at things
    By Cprossu in forum Electronic Theory and Principle
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-07-2018, 11:44 AM
  2. Seasonic x-series 1250w refuses to startup after being shut down, chirping noise !
    By invincible20xx in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-11-2017, 09:21 AM
  3. [Help] Weird Problem with Gtx 560 ti!!
    By Constant in forum General PC Hardware
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 04:43 PM
  4. Ballpark for a startup
    By Phaedrus2129 in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 04:36 AM
  5. Startup w/ light load | THG PSU review's back
    By Travis in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 03:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •