Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Sunmoom or separate DC loads

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    185
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default Sunmoom or separate DC loads

    What you think would be better, a Sunmoon 8800 or some of these electronic loads working in parallel

    Basically 5*Array 3711A for +12V (1500W total) and one 3710A(150W max) for each of the other 3 rails (5V, 3.3V and 5VSB) would cost about the same with an 8800.

    The good thing with these loads is that I can make my program work with them, something that I don't think that is possible with the Sunmoon.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    149
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Tough one... the 8800 would be able to run tests the standalones wouldn't, but if the standalones would integrate better they're worth looking at too.

    And if one of the standalones died, you'd still be able to load stuff while you were fixing it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    185
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    the last you said is what I liked more

    Also I could buy them one by one when I raise some funds. On the other hand the Sunmmon must be bought all in once

    Finally the fact that I could make to make my program work with the stdalones is what made me from the beginning to think about their purchase.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,126
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    The SM-8800 has a PC control option.......

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    185
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    yeap I read its manual and I saw same screens of the program but to tell you the truth I found it really complicated and since I have already made mine I would like to port it. The problem is that I do not think that Sunmoon will provide any instructions or libraries to help develop a custom problem. On the other hand the standalone loaders provide libraries for many environments (including delphi, the language my program is written with).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    185
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    Those of you that own a sunmoon Did they give you any tips or a manual with the commands on how to program it (or get data from it) though its serial port?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,528
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    185
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    I did some work today to see how I could handle the 8 loaders (if I find money to buy them of course) with my proggy.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,126
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crmaris View Post
    Those of you that own a sunmoon Did they give you any tips or a manual with the commands on how to program it (or get data from it) though its serial port?
    Jon might have gotten that information, but I didn't. I also just program mine by hand though so it really isn't something I was too worried about.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    GURU-ville
    Posts
    1,312
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    48
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    26
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Jeremy's and mine don't have the serial ports .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    4,126
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MI-Tazz View Post
    Jeremy's and mine don't have the serial ports .
    SM-268's don't, the SM-8800's do

Similar Threads

  1. What if shorting the PWR_ON with no loads at all
    By quest for silence in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-02-2015, 03:16 AM
  2. Capacitive loads
    By crmaris in forum Testing Methodology Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-05-2011, 03:35 PM
  3. a psu tester with loads
    By garegin in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-26-2009, 10:18 PM
  4. Separate rails and safety to parts?
    By signmeuptoo in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 02:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •