Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 400CX 14+V on 12V line... RMA time?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Coast, US
    Posts
    148
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default 400CX 14+V on 12V line... RMA time?

    I think I know the answer to this question already, but... in checking out my new build, I just saw my 12V rail go from 12.9V to 14.78V. Actually it was at 14.9V the first time I saw this and then the M/B shut off by itself.

    System is almost finished with everything except the hard drive- basically the ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 motherboard, CPU cooler and 3 chassis fans, one on each fan header.

    P/S was at 12.57V when new. I checked a car battery I keep lying around, fully charged it a couple weeks ago, it came it at 13.47V which is close to the 13.8V I expect from a car battery, so I still trust my meter.

    Unless someone can justify this, I really think I have to start an RMA with Corsair... at least I got my rebate already.

    -HF
    Last edited by HangFire; 07-03-2010 at 12:17 PM. Reason: spelling

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah, RMA time.
    Main: i5 2500K@4.6GHz w/Zalman CNPS10X Performa, Intel DZ68BC, 8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600, PNY GTX 470 + EVGA GTX 470, ASUS Xonar DX, ADATA S510 120GB, Samsung 1TB F3+1TB F1+2TB F4, Kingwin LZG 1kW, Lian-Li PC-9F, Dell U2212HM+S2209W, Win7 Professional.
    Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, i5 2410M, 8GB DDR3-1333, AMD Radeon HD 6630M 1GB, Intel X25-M 80GB, Seagate Momentus 750GB, Win7 Home Premium.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Moderator
    Posts
    6,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    149
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Is that a low battery symbol on the meter display? If so, change the battery. You won't get accuracy until you do.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Coast, US
    Posts
    148
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Oklahoma Wolf View Post
    Is that a low battery symbol on the meter display? If so, change the battery. You won't get accuracy until you do.
    Wolfie, you da man. That WAS a low battery symbol... been there so long I got used to it I guess... put a fresh 9V in there, and boom, 12.47 to 12.50 volts through a power up and reboot cycle.

    Old 9V battery tested at 6.5V... not enough I guess. Unless measuring car batteries.

    Thanks a lot, you saved me a LOT of trouble (and Corsair too).

    -HF

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    407
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That's still higher than I would expect to see unless it was being crossloaded (heavy 3.3V/5V load). It's certainly not dangerous anymore, but ATX spec is 12.6V max.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Missouri; USA
    Posts
    5,087
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    413
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    25
    Thanked in
    18 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shinji2k View Post
    That's still higher than I would expect to see unless it was being crossloaded (heavy 3.3V/5V load). It's certainly not dangerous anymore, but ATX spec is 12.6V max.
    Could be some Margin of error on the DMM.

    That or the connections not really secure (Between probes & source.)

    I've had that issue before; got really crazy readings because the connection made between the probe and source wasn't secure.
    I usually try to measure between multiple points.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Coast, US
    Posts
    148
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Dug up another meter... still looks good... I'm putting it into use.

    -HF

Similar Threads

  1. About Corsair 400CX
    By Azzeli in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-07-2011, 06:57 AM
  2. Sea Sonic Announces Time Line of Future PSU Product Launches [tpu]
    By duckula in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 06:48 AM
  3. Corsair 400CX 45A off of the +5V rail
    By HangFire in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-31-2010, 08:12 PM
  4. Corsair 400CX + DirectUPS 800va
    By semitope in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-03-2009, 12:17 AM
  5. Any time line on Corsair HX1000?
    By fvbounty in forum PC Power Supply Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 03:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •